Nagaland bye-election 2021 result: NDPP candidate elected uncontested - Eastern Mirror
Wednesday, February 08, 2023

Nagaland bye-election 2021 result: NDPP candidate elected uncontested

By Livine Khrozhoh Updated: Oct 13, 2021 7:49 pm
S Keoshu Yimchunger (centre) receiving the certificate of election from B Henok Buchem (left) in the presence of general observer Nagarajan M on Wednesday. (CEO’s Office)

Our Reporter
Dimapur, Oct. 13 (EMN)
: United Democratic Alliance (UDA) consensus candidate, S Keoshu Yimchunger, who contested the bye-election to the 58-Shamator-Chessore (ST) Assembly Constituency (AC) on Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) ticket, was declared the winner after the deadline for withdrawal of candidature ended on Wednesday.

The office of the chief electoral officer of Nagaland confirmed in an update that Yimchunger was declared elected uncontested to fill the vacancy in the Nagaland Legislative Assembly caused by the demise of NDPP legislator Toshi Wungtung in July this year.

It added that Additional Deputy Commissioner and Returning Officer (RO) of the constituency, B Henok Buchem had declared the result of the bye-election after the last hour for withdrawal of candidature on October 13 and the nomination papers filed by the NDPP candidate were found valid after scrutiny.

Yimchunger was the lone candidate to file nomination papers for 58-Shamator-Chessore AC bye-poll, which was supposed to be held on October 30. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Naga People’s Front (NPF), which are in the UDA, had decided not to contest the vacant seat earlier held by NDPP.

Buchem handed over the certificate of election to the winning candidate at his office in Shamator on Wednesday.

With this win, the NDPP now has 21 MLAs in the 60-member legislative assembly, BJP has 12, Naga People’s Front (NPF) 25 and Independents two.

Rio congratulates

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio took to Twitter to congratulate Yimchunger on being elected to the 5- Shamator-Chessore AC on NDPP ticket and as UDA consensus candidate.

“My best wishes for a successful tenure. Thanks to the alliance partners, people of the constituency and all well-wishers,” he wrote.

By Livine Khrozhoh Updated: Oct 13, 2021 7:49:38 pm