Thursday, July 07, 2022

MTSU Inter-School Football tourney begins

By EMN Updated: Aug 18, 2014 10:28 pm


THE 4th Inter-School Football Running Trophy, organized by the Medziphema Town Students’ Union (MTSU), got underway today at Medziphema Town local ground with Parliamentary Secretary for Urban Development Zhaleo Rio gracing the opening ceremony as the chief guest.
Addressing the students, Zhaleo Rio said that football is the most popular game among the Nagas and that football is an area where Nagas can excel at various levels. While reminding the gathering of legendary Dr.T Ao, who captained the Indian football team in the London Olympics in 1948, Zhaleo questioned the students why can’t we excel, when the facilities and infrastructure are much better now.
Nagas are very talented sportspersons but we lack dedication and we tend to take sports very casually, he lamented. The attitude of taking games and sports casually must change. We must start taking sports very seriously and every player must play with sincerity, dedication and perseverance, he opined. Being a student, studies should be priority but sports is an important ingredient of making a complete student, he added.
While expressing his hope of seeing players from the area playing in the national and international level, the chief guest also reminded that to be a good player, one have to be disciplined and have a healthy body. There are times when we fail but if you pursue your dream with sincerity, you will reach your goal, he added.
The chief guest also urged upon the participants to maintain discipline and display their talent in a sporting during the meet. Zhaleo congratulated the student’s for organizing tournament of high standard.
Earlier, there was band display by SFS Brass Band, which is the 1st brass band at school level in Dimapur district, God’s blessing was invoked by Pastor Neilekho BCAMT, welcome address was delivered by Kepe Nakhro, president MTSU and the programme was chaired by Imliyanla Jamir.
Altogether 8 teams are participating in the tournament which will conclude on August 25. The participating schools are Assam Rifles High School, Modern High School, Chakhro Baptist Mission School, King David School, Government Higher Secondary School, Government Middle School and Rivenburg School.
August 18 result
Govt Hr Sec School-A beat Assam Rifles High School 7-1
Rivenburg School beat Govt Middle School 4-2
Chakhro Baptist Mission School beat Modern Christian School 3-2

By EMN Updated: Aug 18, 2014 10:28:53 pm