Morning Star FC Win Ao-Sangma Shield Football Tournament 2024 - Eastern Mirror
Sunday, June 16, 2024
Nagaland Sports

Morning Star FC win Ao-Sangma Shield Football Tournament 2024

By Reyivolü Rhakho Updated: May 29, 2024 11:02 pm
Ao-Sangma Shield Football Tournament
Morning Star FC team pose with the shield after emerging victorious in the Ao-Sangma Shield Football Tournament 2024 in Guwahati.

KOHIMA — The three-day second edition of the Ao-Sangma Shield Football Tournament concluded with Morning Star FC from Beltola, Guwahati, emerging as the winner.

The tournament, held from May 24 to 26 at Padmaram Bharali Field in Gorchuk, Guwahati, marked the culmination of the Highlander Brigade’s off-season activities for the year.

On Wednesday, the North East United FC supporter club, Highlander Brigade, announced that 32 teams from various parts of Assam and Meghalaya participated in the seven-a-side tournament.

Morning Star FC took home INR 20,000, while Guwahati Warrior FC secured the runner-up position, earning INR 10,000. Golden Falcons FC was awarded the Fair Play Award. In the individual category, Gaurav Sharma from Kalapani FC clinched the Golden Boot with four goals, and Yuvraj Boro from Guwahati Warrior FC received the Golden Gloves.

It’s worth noting that the Ao-Sangma Shield Football Tournament was named in honour of two renowned Indian footballers, Dr. Talimeren Ao and Gilbertson Sangma.

In addition to the shield tournament, the Highlander Brigade collaborated with the Assam Football Association to organise the All Assam Amateur Community Futsal Tournament at Decathlon in Azara, Guwahati, on May 2nd. The event featured a five-a-side futsal tournament, with 17 teams consisting of 129 amateur players participating.

Conquerer FC emerged as the winner of the All Assam Amateur Futsal Tournament, with Urban FC securing the runner-up position. The individual awards, including the Golden Boot and Golden Glove, were claimed by Kunal Jaiswal and Nikhil Ray from Urban FC, respectively.

Following the futsal tournament, the 5th edition of the HB eFootball Tournament took place from May 5 to the 7th in which a total of 128 players from various parts of India participated.

It was announced that Shuvojit Sen from West Bengal emerged as the winner, with Ayush Jadli securing the runner-up position.

By Reyivolü Rhakho Updated: May 29, 2024 11:02:53 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS