Messi Wins Record 8th Ballon D'Or, Bonmati Claims Women's Award - Eastern Mirror
Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Messi wins record 8th Ballon d’Or, Bonmati claims women’s award

By IANS Updated: Oct 31, 2023 4:07 pm
Messi wins record 8th Ballon d'Or, Bonmati claims women's award

PARIS — Lionel Messi won his record-extending eighth Ballon d’Or, while Spain’s Aitana Bonmati claimed the women’s award.

The Argentine soccer great won the award for his exceptional performance at the Qatar World Cup last year when he led Argentina to the trophy with seven goals and was named the best player of the tournament, Xinhua reports.

Messi has won the most significant individual football award in the years of 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021, and now 2023.

“This is a gift to the whole Argentina team for what we achieved,” said Messi, paying tribute to his teammates. “Becoming world champion was the title we were missing. I’d like to thank everyone who helped make Argentina the world champion team.”

Messi wins record 8th Ballon d'Or, Bonmati claims women's award

He also dedicated the trophy to legendary Argentine footballer Diego Maradona, who passed away in 2020 and would have celebrated his 63rd birthday on Monday.

“Happy birthday Diego. This is for you too,” he said.

Norwegian forward Erling Haaland came second for winning the UEFA Champions League, Premier League, and FA Cup title with Manchester City, while Qatar World Cup golden boot winner Kylian Mbappe was third.

Bonmati lifted the women’s Ballon d’Or, ahead of Australia’s Sam Kerr and compatriot Salma Paralluelo, for winning Spain’s first Women’s World Cup title in August.

In other awards, England’s Jude Bellingham was named the best under-21 player, while Haaland won the prize for the best striker of the year.

Messi’s national team teammate Emiliano Martinez won the Lev Yashin Award for best goalkeeper.

Erling Haaland wins Gerd Muller Trophy at 2023 Ballon d’Or

Erling Haaland wins Gerd Muller Trophy at 2023 Ballon d'Or

Erling Haaland has been awarded the prestigious Gerd Muller Trophy in recognition of his incredible debut season for Manchester City alongside his exploits for Norway.

The trophy is named in honour of the late, great German strike legend Gerd Muller and is awarded to the top striker of the past European season for club and country.

Introduced in 2021 as part of the Ballon d’Or ceremony which recognises and celebrates the continent’s elite footballing talent, Haaland becomes only the second player to lift the prestigious prize following in the footsteps of 2021 and 2022 recipient Robert Lewandowski.

Having joined City from Borussia Dortmund in the summer of 2022, Haaland went on to enjoy a stunning inaugural campaign at the Etihad with his goals proving pivotal in the Club’s historic Treble campaign.

“It’s a huge honour to receive the Gerd Muller Trophy. I couldn’t have scored the number of goals I did last season without all of my teammates and this award is another reminder of the incredible year we all enjoyed together,” said Haaland on receiving the Gerd Muller Trophy

“We work hard every day to win every game and every competition we play in, but to not only lift the first Champions League in this Club’s history but also the Premier League and FA Cup is something none of us could have imagined.

“I’m proud of what we achieved as a team last season, but our focus now is on trying to do it all again this year,” he added.

Also read: La Liga 2023-24: First El Clasico for Barca and Real’s new stars, Joao Felix and Jude Bellingham

By IANS Updated: Oct 31, 2023 4:07:18 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS