MasterCoach Teachers Programme Excellence Award Ceremony Held - Eastern Mirror
Friday, February 23, 2024
Kohima, Nagaland

MasterCoach Teachers Programme Excellence Award ceremony held

By EMN Updated: Jan 24, 2024 8:38 pm
Thavaseelan K, Nuneseno Chase, and the awardees in Kohima on Wednesday.

DIMAPUR — The MasterCoach Teachers Programme Excellence Award ceremony was held on Wednesday at the Directorate of School Education (DoSE), Kohima, and was organised by YouthNet in collaboration with Quest Alliance and DoSE.

Speaking on the occasion, Thavaseelan K, principal director of the Directorate of School Education, lauded YouthNet, IBM, and Quest Alliance for their efforts to implement IBM-STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) for Girls in Nagaland, according to an update.

The IBM-STEM for Girls programme aims to inspire girls to pursue careers in STEM.

Recognising the challenges that girls face in pursuing STEM careers in the state, Thavaseelan expressed gratitude for the programme’s current focus on six districts and requested that IBM, Quest Alliance, and YouthNet consider expanding it to the remaining 10 districts.

Nuneseno Chase, director of YouthNet and first MasterCoach from the state, detailed the programme’s progress and achievements, highlighting teachers’ dedication and noting an impressive 58% overall completion rate by 171 teachers from 57 government high schools and higher secondary schools across six districts—Kohima, Tseminyu, Dimapur, Chumoukedima, Niuland, and Kiphire.

Chase expressed hope that with the principal director’s support, the programme could be expanded to include all 16 districts.

The MasterCoach Teachers Programme is an in-service teacher training initiative that aims to provide educators with 21st-century facilitation skills, social capital, and a roadmap for professional development.

The programme aims to transform classrooms into 21st-century learning environments by teaching students digital literacy, problem-solving, critical thinking, life and job skills, leadership, cultural competence, ethical and emotional awareness, and effective communication and collaboration, the update said.

The award ceremony aimed to recognise and appreciate the outstanding performance and dedication of teachers and awards were presented to the six best-performing teachers from the districts of Kohima, Tseminyu, Kiphire, Chumoukedima, Dimapur, and Niuland.

The recipients, including Nepasula from GHS Chandmari, Khriekeyieno Zashumo from GHS Kandinu, Imlipenla from GHS Kichang, Mary Rhi from GHS Chumoukedima Village, Anungla Pongener from GHS Lingrijan, and Bovika H Chishi from GHS Zuheshe, expressed their appreciation for the opportunity to participate in the programme.

Kevileno Angami, the commissioner and secretary of School Education, also attended the ceremony.

Also read: YouthNet workshop unveils secrets of thriving in digital marketplaces

By EMN Updated: Jan 24, 2024 8:38:53 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS