Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Manipur polls: Final phase of polling today

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Mar 05, 2022 12:35 am

92 candidates, including two female in fray for 22 seats

Army personnel on election duty are seen gathering at Senapati HQ ground.

Our Correspondent
Imphal, March 4 (EMN): Manipur will go to second and final phase of polling at 22 assembly constituencies under six electoral districts namely Thoubal (10), Chandel (2), Ukhrul (3), Senapati (3),Tamenglong (3) and Jiribam (1), on Saturday.

A total of 92 candidates, including two female are in the fray for 22 seats. Some of the political heavyweights, who are contesting in the second phase polls, include former Chief Minister O Ibobi (Thoubal), former deputy CM Gaikhangam (Nungba), Forest minister Awangbow Newmai (Tamei), and Public Health Engineering minister L Dikho (Mao).

The ruling BJP has fielded 22 candidates, Congress 18, National People’s Party 11 and 10 each candidates by Naga People’s Front (NPF) and Janata Dal-United, besides other parties and independents.

All the 10 constituencies NPF is contesting will go to polls in this phase.

A total of 8,38,730 electorates including 4,10,020 males, 4,28,679 females and 31 transgenders will exercise their franchise in the second phase. There are 20,031 voters belonging 80+, 4849 Persons with disability (PwDs) and 480 centenarians who will vote on Saturday.

Altogether, 223 polling stations out of state’s 1247 polling stations, will be completely manned by all women polling personnel. There are 39 model polling stations.

A total of 4988 polling personnel have being deployed for the polls.

Informing this in a press note, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Manipur, Rajesh Agrawal said that arrangement for webcasting/videography has been made in all polling stations.

As done in Phase I of election, adequate arrangements have been made in all polling stations to ensure Covid-safe election, he said. Voters who are Covid-positive or are under quarantine will be allowed to vote at the last hour between 3pm to 4pm.

He informed that 2895 out of 21944 postal ballots issued to service electors have exercised their franchise (for both Phase I and II) till date; and 1230 PwD voters and 7230 people aged 80 and above have cast their votes in this mode.

In the last assembly election, Congress won 12 seats out of 22, while NPF won 4, BJP 3 and NPP 2.

The counting of votes will take place on March 10.

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Mar 05, 2022 12:35:09 am