Manipur: Newly inducted ministers allocated portfolios - Eastern Mirror
Friday, March 24, 2023

Manipur: Newly inducted ministers allocated portfolios

By Our Correspondent Updated: Sep 27, 2020 10:06 pm

Our Correspondent

Imphal, Sep. 27 (EMN): Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh on Sunday allocated portfolios to the five newly inducted ministers in his council of ministers.

The chief secretary Dr. Rajesh Kumar of the state has issued a notification in this regard on Sunday.

As per the notification, Chief Minister N Biren Singh continues to hold Home, Personnel, Planning, Revenue portfolios and any other department not allocated specifically.

On the other hand Sorokhiabam Rajen Singh has been allocated Education, Fisheries, Command Area Development Authority, Vungzagin Valte has been assigned with Tribal Affairs & Hills, Transport, General Administrative Department while Oinam Lukhoi has been given the charge of Agriculture, Veterinary & Animal Husbandry, Tourism.

Thokchom Satyabarta has been allocated with Consumers Affairs, Food & Public Distribution, Law & Legislative Affairs & Employment while Okram Henry has been given Municipal Administration Housing and Urban Development, Social Welfare, Co-operation.

On Thursday, three BJP MLAs S Rajen Singh (Lamsang), Vungzagin Valte (Thanlon), Th Satyabarta (Yaiskul) and two ex-MLAs O Lukhoi (Wangoi) and O Henry (Wangkhei) were sworn in as cabinet ministers after dropping six ministers. Lukhoi and Henry were Congress MLAs who had resigned and joined BJP.

The six minister who were dropped from the council of ministers include V Hangkhalian (Agriculture and Animal Husbandry), Nemcha Kipgen (Social Welfare and Cooperation), Th Radheshyam (Education, Labour and Employment), L Jayantakumar (Health & Family welfare), N Kayisii (Tribal Affairs & Fisheries) and K Shyam (Consumers Affairs Food & Public Distribution).

While V Hangkhalian, Nemcha and Radheshyam are from the BJP, Jayantakumar and Kayisii are from the National People’s Party (NPP). Shyam is from Lok Janshakti Party.

Interestingly the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) on Saturday had questioned the logic of allotting ministerial berths to two Ex-MLAs Lukhoi and Henry after they had voluntarily resigned from the membership of Manipur Legislative Assembly.

MPCC vice-president Dr. Kh Ratankumar had even asked if the chief minister N Biren Singh-led government was saying there are no MLAs within BJP and their allies who are more qualified than Lukhoi and Henry for ministerial berths. On the removal of the lone woman minister, the Congress leader charged that the incumbent government is anti-women.

On Friday, women folks of Kangpokpi had staged a sit-in demonstration demanding reinduction of BJP’s lone woman legislator and former social welfare minister Nemcha Kipgen.

By Our Correspondent Updated: Sep 27, 2020 10:06:30 pm