Manipur Government Announces Award For Journalists - Eastern Mirror
Sunday, April 21, 2024

Manipur government announces award for journalists

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Nov 14, 2023 11:21 pm

IMPHAL — Manipur’s Directorate of Information and Public Relations (DIPR) has announced the names of seven journalists representing different media houses in Manipur for the annual state journalist awards in seven categories.

“After examining the press/ video clippings of different journalists nominated by their respective editors, the panel of judges recommended seven journalists from different media houses on the basis of objectivity and reliance on authentic source of the publication for conferring Manipur State Journalist Awards 2023 in different categories” says DIPR Manipur in a press release.

The award winners are staff reporter Robinson Wahengbam of the vernacular daily ‘Sanaleibak’ in rural reporting; sub-editor Taorem Bishwajit Singh of ‘Sanaleibak Daily’ in public health and hygiene reporting; staff reporter Khairibam Yaiphaba Meitei of ‘TOM TV’ in reporting with special reference to women and children; sub-editor Asem Chandrashekhwor Singh of ‘Sanaleibak’ in sports reporting; staff reporter Maibam Kenedy Singh of ‘Sanaleibak’ in two categories (Art and Culture and Parliamentary Reporting); while staff reporter Moirangthem Khagemba Meetei also from ‘Sanaleibak’ in Science and Technology reporting.

The awards carry cash prizes of INR 25,000 each, along with a citation and a shawl, which would presented on National Press Day 2023 at the Durbar Hall of Chief Minister’s secretariat in Imphal on November 16.

This year’s National Press Day observation would also witness a workshop on ‘Media in the era of artificial intelligence’ at DIPR conference hall in Imphal with Dr. Kh Robindro of Manipur University and Th Bobo of National Institute of Electronics and Information Technology, Imphal, as the resource persons.

Also read: Mobile internet ban extended in Manipur till November 18

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Nov 14, 2023 11:21:13 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS