Saturday, August 13, 2022

Manipur bye-elections: Police take up security measures

By Our Correspondent Updated: Oct 08, 2020 11:27 pm

Our Correspondent

Imphal, Oct 8 (EMN): In view of the upcoming bye-elections in five assembly constituencies, the Manipur police are taking up necessary security measures at the election bound districts. The Thoubal district police team under the supervision of Superintendent of Police Dr S Ibomcha on Oct. 8 conducted a cordon and search operation in Lilong area wherein the police team recovered six license guns including 3 BBLs and 2 SBBLs along with cartridges.

During the day’s door to door search operation, police team also verified around 350 persons from 60 houses of Lilong area in Thoubal.

Meanwhile political parties have also geared up for the forthcoming by-elections to Lilong, Wangjing-Tentha constituencies in Thoubal district, Wangoi constituency in Imphal West district, Saitu constituency in Kangpokpi district and Singhat constituency in Churachandpur district.

It may be mentioned that the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Monday announced the bye-elections to Wangoi, Saitu and Singhat assembly constituencies. Earlier on September 29, ECI had already announced the bye-election schedule for Lilong and Wangjing-Tentha assembly constituencies.

The last date for making nominations will be held on October 20 followed by scrutiny and the last date of withdrawal of candidature on October 21 and 23 respectively.

The polling will be held on November 7 while the counting and completion of the election process have been on November 10 and 12 respectively.

With the announcement of the Election Schedule, the model Code of Conduct comes into effect immediately and will be applicable in the areas falling under Wangoi assembly constituency and the entire districts of Thoubal, Kangpokpi and Churachandpur.

The bye-elections for the five assembly constituencies were necessitated after their respective sitting MLAs resigned from the membership of Manipur Legislative Assembly in August.

At present 13 assembly constituencies are also lying vacant in the 60 member Manipur Legislative Assembly following disqualification and resignation of MLAs.

The BJP led government in Manipur came to power in March 2017 with support of four MLAs each from NPP and NPF besides one MLA each from TMC, Lok Janshakti Party, and an Independent in the 60 member House.

By Our Correspondent Updated: Oct 08, 2020 11:27:54 pm