Lok Sabha Election 2024: Home Voting Begins In Nagaland - Eastern Mirror
Thursday, May 23, 2024

Lok Sabha election 2024: Home voting begins in Nagaland

By Menuse-O Max Khieya Updated: Apr 11, 2024 12:26 am
Lok Sabha election
File photo of members of a disability forum during an event. (EM Images)

KOHIMA — The Election Commission has initiated home voting facility for the elderly and persons with disabilities (PwDs) in Nagaland on April 5, two weeks before the state goes to polls on April 19, the first phase of Lok Sabha elections.

However, data about voter turnout is expected to be available only after the conclusion of the home-voting period on Friday, an election official told Eastern Mirror on Wednesday.

With an aim to make the electoral process inclusive, the ECI had extended ‘vote-from-home’ facility to senior citizens aged 85 and above, persons with 40% and above disabilities, persons employed in essential services and COVID-19 affected persons, allowing them to cast their votes through postal ballots.

An official overseeing the electoral process informed this newspaper that they conducted home voting in Kohima district on April 9 and the 10th. For this, 10 teams were formed for house-to-house visit across the district.

The teams were unable to meet a few individuals, who were not at home on the first day, so they had go for another round on Wednesday to collect their votes, it was informed.

The official said that the postal papers had been submitted to the appropriate authorities.

The Nagaland State Disability Forum (NSDF) executives also informed this newspaper that some of their members have already availed ‘vote-from-home’ facility.

Meanwhile, a member of the forum said that she would cast her vote on the polling day and make sure that her vote is not cast by others, while citing cases of proxy voting.

As per the schedule for home voting, Dimapur, Peren, Chümoukedima, Kohima and Phek districts are supposed to complete the process between April 5 and 10, while eligible voters of Mokokchung, Pughoboto, Wokha, Zunheboto and Tseminyu can cast their votes on Thursday and Friday.

Meanwhile, there was no application from Mon, Tuensang, Longleng, Kiphire, Noklak, and Shamator districts for the facility.

It may be mentioned that three candidates — Dr. Chumben Murry (NDPP), S. Supongmeren Jamir (INC) and Hayithung Tungoe Lotha (Ind) — are in fray for the state’s lone parliamentary seat.

By Menuse-O Max Khieya Updated: Apr 11, 2024 12:26:51 am
Website Design and Website Development by TIS