Wednesday, July 06, 2022
Arts and Entertainment

‘La La Land’ wins big at Critics’ Choice Awards

By IANS Updated: Dec 12, 2016 10:41 pm

Actor Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone starrer romantic musical comedy drama film “La La Land” bagged a maximum of eight trophies at the 22nd Critics’ Choice Awards, clinching the Best Picture and Best Director honours.
The 22nd Critics’ Choice Awards took place at the Santa Monica Airport’s Barker Hangar in California on Sunday to honour critics’ picks for the best movies and television of the year, reports
Directed by Damien Chazelle, “La La Land” also won the awards for Best Original Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, Best Editing, Best Song and Best Score.
“Manchester by the Sea” won in categories like Best Actor for Casey Affleck, Best Young Actor/Actress for Lucas Hedges and Best Original Screenplay, which it shared with “La La Land”.
“Moonlight” won the Best Supporting Actor honour for Mahershala Ali and Best Acting Ensemble award.
Actress Natalie Portman won the award for Best Actress for her role in “Jackie”.
Other big winners of the night included Viola Davis, who won the Best Supporting Actress award for “Fences”, filmmaker Jon Favreau’s “The Jungle Book”, which clinched the trophy for Best Visual Effects, Best Animated Feature for “Zootopia”, Best Action Movie award for “Hacksaw Ridge” and Best Comedy trophy for “Deadpool”.
In the TV section, “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story” came out as the big winner by clinching trophies in categories like Best Movie Made For Television or Limited Series, Best Actor in a Movie Made for Television or Limited Series, Best Supporting Actor in a Movie Made for Television or Limited Series and Best Actress in a Movie Made for Television or Limited Series.
While “Game of Thrones” won the award for Best Drama Series, the Best Comedy Series trophies was given to “Silicon Valley”.
Other big honours were given to “BoJack Horseman”, which won the Best Animated Series award, the Best Reality Competition Series trophy to “The Voice”, Best Structured Reality Series to “Shark Tank”, Best Unstructured Reality Series to “Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown” and the Best Talk Show to “The Late Late Show with James Corden”.

By IANS Updated: Dec 12, 2016 10:41:21 pm