Knights XI Thahekhu win 5th Unity Cup - Eastern Mirror
Thursday, March 23, 2023

Knights XI Thahekhu win 5th Unity Cup

By EMN Updated: Jan 17, 2020 11:48 pm
The organisers with special guest and members of the winning team Knight XI Thahekhu.

Dimapur, Jan. 17 (EMN): The 5th Unity Cup T-20 Cricket Tournament organised by Nepali Baptist Church Chümoukedima Sports Ministry at Chümoukedima Local Ground concluded on Friday. The tournament began on January 6 with 19 teams vying for the cup.

An update from Nepali Baptist Church Chümoukedima informed that Knights XI Thahekhu defeated Hurricane CC by three wickets with three overs to spare in the final to lift the cup. It was the third consecutive year that the team had won the title.

Sahil of Knights XI Thahekhu was adjudged Man of the match for his knock of 24 runs and three-wicket haul.

The winning team walked away with a cash prize of INR 30,000 sponsored by Ratna Rana and Family, Church Member of NBC Cmd along with running trophy while the runners-up received INR 20,000 sponsored by Chanu Panthy and Family, Church Member of NBC Cmd.

Among the individual awards winner, Jalal Uddin of Whiskers CC and Nagaho of Knight XI Thahekhu were declared best bowlers, while Mughavi of Knight XI Thahekhu was adjudged best batsman; Debashish of Hurricane CC, player of the tournament; and Rayn Lama of Hurricane CC, emerging player of the tournament.

Bishnu Bhathattacharjee, chairman of Naga People’s Front (Minority wing), attended the closing ceremony of the tournament as special guest.

In his address, Bhathattacharjee encouraged the youths to be role model and backbone of the society. He also wished the organisers and players the best in their future endeavours.

By EMN Updated: Jan 17, 2020 11:48:00 pm