Saturday, August 13, 2022

Karbi Anglong prepared for polls, says official

By Vivian Longki Rongpi Updated: Mar 16, 2021 12:11 am

Our Correspondent
Diphu, March 15 (EMN): Deputy Commissioner, Karbi Anglong and returning officer(RO), Ng Chandra Dhwaj Singha of 19-Diphu (ST) LAC has informed that all the election cells that were constituted for Assam Legislative Assembly election were functioning and working actively and was ready for conducting the ongoing Assembly Election- 2021, both polling and counting day.

The RO has also informed that for conducting free, fair and transparent election process, the ECI had already deployed general observer for 18-Howraghat (ST) LAC, Mohammad Shafqat Kamal and 19-Diphu (ST) LAC, Dr. Krishna Kant Pathak, police observer for 17-Bokajan, 18-Howraghat and 19-Diphu (ST) LAC, Sanjoy Roy and expenditure observer for 17-Bokajan, 18-Howraghat and 19-Diphu (ST) LAC, Chavan.

“All the observers have already arrived in Diphu and are staying at Circuit Diphu. They have also visited their respective constituency areas, held meeting with returning officers and election cell officials for examining electoral process,” he said.

As per ECI, Assam Assembly Election-2021 schedule, scrutiny of nominations for the assembly elections 2021 under 18-Howraghat and 19-Diphu has been completed at DC Office, Diphu in the presence of the general observer of both LAC.

Out of total 19 candidatures from 18-Howraghat and 19-Diphu LAC, the nominations of two candidates Bidya Sing Rongpi (IND) and Dimi Hansepi, JD (U) from 19-Diphu ST LAC have been rejected. Under 18-Howraghat LAC, all eight nominations have been accepted.

Likewise, under 17-Bokajan (ST) LAC all seven nominations have been accepted while under 20-Baithalangso (ST) LAC out of 10 nominations, one candidate, Probin Hanse of Rastriya Hind Samaj Party’s nomination has been rejected.

Finally, 33 candidates are in the fray for Assam Assembly Election in Karbi Anglong and West Karbi Anglong district and their luck will be decided by 6, 88, 500 voters.

In 16-Haflong (ST) LAC the nominations of all four candidates have been accepted.

As per ECI election notification, the last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 17. Polling day for 2nd phase will be held on April 1. Elections to the 126-member Assam Assembly will be held in three phases on March 27, April 1 and April 6. Counting of votes will be taken up on May 2.

By Vivian Longki Rongpi Updated: Mar 16, 2021 12:11:10 am