KAAC newly elected members sworn in - Eastern Mirror
Friday, January 27, 2023

KAAC newly elected members sworn in

By Vivian Longki Rongpi Updated: Jun 20, 2022 11:06 pm
Newly elected MAC with the governor and chief minister in Diphu on Monday. (EM Images)

Our Correspondent

Diphu, June 20 (EMN): The swearing-in ceremony of the newly elected 26 Members of Autonomous Council (MAC) of Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC) was held at Karbi Cultural Complex, Taralangso on Monday.

The oath of office was administered by Dibakar Nath, Deputy Commissioner, Karbi Anglong in the presence of Assam Governor Prof. Jagdish Mukhi as the chief guest and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma as the guest of honour.

The BJP won by absolute majority securing 26 out of 26 MAC constituencies for the first time in the history of KAAC without a single opposition member. 

In the next meeting, the MACs will vote or decide on who will be the Chief Executive Member (CEM). The elected CEM will then convene an executive committee meeting with selected members from the 26 MACs for the executive committee.

When asked about the upgradation of present KAAC to territorial council as per the MoS agreement of the UPDS with the Central government, the CM said, “It is a territorial council, when it is a combination of two or more districts. To change from autonomous council to territorial council or other names, a constitutional amendment is needed. It is still in discussion for a constitutional amendment”.

On the development of education in Karbi Anglong the CM said, “The government of Assam will give complete facilities for the development of health, education and road connectivity, but the KAAC must ensure that all the schemes are implemented without corruption”. 

The election for the post of Chairman, KAAC will be on June 22 on the eve of KAAC Foundation Day.

By Vivian Longki Rongpi Updated: Jun 20, 2022 11:06:49 pm