Inter-District One Day Tournament: Longleng Rout Peren, Tseminyu Outclass Phek - Eastern Mirror
Thursday, May 30, 2024
Nagaland Sports

Inter-District One Day Tournament: Longleng rout Peren, Tseminyu outclass Phek

By Purnungba Longkumer Updated: Apr 23, 2024 9:43 pm

DIMAPUR — The Senior Men’s Inter-District One Day Tournament 2024, organised by the Nagaland Cricket Association (NCA), commenced on Tuesday at the Sovima Cricket Stadium in Chümoukedima.

In the opening match, Longleng clinched a commanding victory over Peren district, winning the match by 204 runs.

Batting first, Longleng scored a total of 280 runs, all out in 44.2 overs. Arjun Kumar played a blistering inning, smashing 82 runs off just 59 balls, while Bidesi contributed with 68 runs off 39 deliveries.

While chasing the target, Longleng’s bowlers dismantled the Peren batting lineup in just 21.3 overs, restricting them to a mere total of 76 runs, all out. Amit Marak of Longleng showcased an outstanding bowling performance, claiming 5 wickets. The top scorer for Peren was Parbez, who managed to contribute 25 runs.

Arjun Kumar Yadav was awarded the player of the match for his exceptional performance, scoring 82 runs and also taking two crucial wickets.

In the second match, Tseminyu emerged victorious over Phek by a convincing margin of 163 runs at the Nagaland Cricket Stadium.

Batting first, Tseminyu set a formidable total of 260 runs, losing all their wickets in 46.1 overs. Nuntilo made a valuable contribution with 45 runs, while Ntsenlo added 33 runs to the scoreboard.

Tseminyu’s bowlers annihilated Phek’s batting lineup as they chased the target, limiting them to only 97 runs all out in 21.1 overs. In the match, Henry Kent of Tseminyu took 4 wickets, while Shasinlo took 3.

Imna Toshi emerged as the highest scorer for the Phek team, notching 32 runs, with Mark Angami providing support with 26 runs. The player of the match title was awarded to Henry Kent of Tseminyu for his outstanding performance.

A total of 13 districts, comprising Chümoukedima, Dimapur, Kohima, Zunheboto, Longleng, Mokokchung, Mon, Peren, Niuland, Phek, Tseminyu, Kiphire, and Wokha, are participating in the tournament.

By Purnungba Longkumer Updated: Apr 23, 2024 9:43:18 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS