Independent Candidate Hayithung Files Nomination For Nagaland’s Lone LS Seat - Eastern Mirror
Sunday, May 26, 2024

Independent candidate Hayithung files nomination for Nagaland’s lone LS seat

By EMN Updated: Mar 22, 2024 8:59 pm
Hayithung Tungoe Lotha filing his nomination paper at the Commissioner and Returning Officer’s Office in Kohima on Friday. (DIPR)

DIMAPUR — Independent candidate, Hayithung Tungoe Lotha filed his nomination paper for the general elections to the 18th Lok Sabha on Friday.

Lotha filed his papers before the Commissioner Nagaland and Returning Officer for 1-Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency, Sushil Kumar Patel, who was assisted by Additional Deputy Commissioner (Hq) and Assistant Returning Officer, Benjamin Longkap in examining the documents.

The other two intending candidates — Dr. Chumben Murry of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party, who is the consensus candidate of the ruling People’s Democratic Alliance, and S Supongmeren Jamir of the Indian National Congress – who had declared their candidature for the state’s lone Parliamentary seat, are yet to file their nominations.

The filling of nomination papers will come to a close at 3 pm on March 27 and the election will be held on April 19, before the votes are counted on June 4.

By EMN Updated: Mar 22, 2024 8:59:31 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS