Saturday, December 04, 2021
Nagaland Sports

Hocus Pocus lift M Noke Trophy

By EMN Updated: Oct 20, 2013 12:28 am

Dimapur, October 19

Hocus Pocus of Tizit lifted the M. Noke Trophy for the 2nd consecutive year after defeating the Bulls FC by 2 nil, while the CM Young Star was placed in the 3rd place after beating Shenmei Club by 3 – 1. With 7 goals, Samson of Striver FC was awarded with Highest Scorer award. The best keeper was bagged by Nchum of CM Young Star and the Best Player was bagged by Ngamchoak of Hocus Focus. Champion Hocus Pocus carried away the Trophy along with Certificate and Cash Prize of Rs. 80,000. While the Bulls FC was awarded with cash prize of Rs. 40,000 along with certificate and CM Young Star was awarded with a cash prize of Rs. 20,000.
Parliamentary Secretary for Rural Development & REPA C.L. John graced the closing ceremony as the Chief Guest, expressed gratitude to the Friends Club for taking the initiatives in uplifting the younger generation in the field of sports by organizing the Trophy successfully and further urged them to continue in the years to come. Underlining the importance of sports, John reminded that sports promotes global unity, builds friendship, creates spirit of oneness and advocates peace and harmony in the society. He also advised the young players to avoid all negative attitudes even if one loses the game. He donated Rs. 100000 (One lakh) to the organizing Committee of M. Noke Trophy.
The most inspiring team of the Trophy was the participation of Mon Users Network (Shansham Organization) where all the players of Mon Users Network were former drug addicts. The team lost to Shenmei Club in the quarter final.
The M. Noke Trophy ‘Inter Club Football Tournament’ is organized by the Friends Club, Mon annually with the aim and objective to uplift sports to greater heights and to identify the potentials of talented youths of the district and also to generate love and friendship through sports. Altogether 18 teams participated in the trophy 2013. Sheanglem the lady wife of Chairman, NKVIB, N. Thongwang Konyak handed the prize to the winners.

By EMN Updated: Oct 20, 2013 12:28:38 am