Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Haryana Assembly polls: INLD announces 64 candidates, Abhay Chautala to recontest from Ellenabad

By PTI Updated: Oct 02, 2019 9:10 pm

Chandigarh, Oct. 2 (PTI): Opposition Indian National Lok Dal on Wednesday released its first list of 64 candidates for the Haryana Assembly polls scheduled for October 21, with senior leader Abhay Singh Chautala seeking re-election from his Ellenabad constituency.

The election committee of the party held a meeting in Delhi under the chairmanship of INLD president and former chief minister Om Prakash Chautala, after which it announced the names.

Party’s state unit chief B D Dhalia said that twelve women were among the candidates whose names were announced in the list.

He said the party had taken care to give representation to various sections of society and the candidates were decided accordingly. Former MLA Dilbagh Singh will enter the fray from Yamunanagar.

On September 25, O P Chautala had announced that the party would give 33 per cent reservation to women in the distribution of tickets.

Notably, after a feud in the Chautala family, there was a vertical split in the INLD, founded by former deputy prime minister Devi Lal, and the Jannayak Janta Party was formed by Abhay’s nephew and former Hisar MP, Dushyant Chautala.

O P Chautala is serving a jail sentence in connection with a teachers’ recruitment scam, but is out on parole these days.

The INLD, which has been out of power in the state for 14 years now, has been going through rough times since its split. Besides, O P Chautala, his younger son Abhay Chautala is the only prominent leader left in the party now as most of its sitting MLAs and leaders have switched over to the BJP.

Meanwhile, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) released its second list of 27 candidates on Wednesday, including two women. Earlier, the Mayawati-led party had announced names of 41 candidates.

The polls to the 90-member assembly will be held on October 21 and results will be declared on October 24.

By PTI Updated: Oct 02, 2019 9:10:07 pm