Governor designate arrives in Manipur - Eastern Mirror
Thursday, June 01, 2023

Governor designate arrives in Manipur

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Aug 26, 2021 11:03 pm
La Ganesan speaking with N Biren Singh in presence of other officials on Thursday.

Our Correspondent
Imphal, Aug. 26 (EMN):
BJP leader from Tamil Nadu, La Ganesan, who was appointed as Governor of Manipur on Sunday will be sworn in as the 17th Governor of the state on Thursday.

Manipur High Court Chief Justice, PV Sanjay Kumar administered the oath of office and secrecy to Ganesan. The post of the governor had fallen vacant after the retirement of Najma Heptulla earlier this month.

On his arrival, a warm reception was accorded to Governor designate of Manipur La Ganesan by Chief Minister N Biren Singh and his council of ministers besides Speaker Y Khemchand along with guard of honours by a combined contingent consisting of 5th IRB, 6th MR and 1st MR lead by Commanding Officer of 10th IRB at Raj Bhavan, Deputy Chief Minister Y Joykumar Singh, Speaker Y Khemchand, Minister (Power/RD and PR) Th Biswajit Singh, Education Minister S Rajen Singh, Tribal Affairs H Minister Vungzagin Valte, Agriculture Minister O Lukhoi Singh.

Earlier, he was received by Manipur Chief Secretary, Dr. Rajesh Kumar led state officials at the airport.

A communique from the Rashtrapati Bhavan said that Ganesan will be the new Governor of Manipur with effect from the date he assumes charge of his office. While Dr. Heptulla was on leave for a few days prior to her recent retirement, the charge was given to Sikkim Governor Ganga Prasad for a few days. Dr. Heptulla was sworn in as Governor of Manipur in August 2016.

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Aug 26, 2021 11:03:04 pm