Former BJP Leaders Join Congress At Akuluto - Eastern Mirror
Thursday, April 18, 2024

Former BJP leaders join Congress at Akuluto

By EMN Updated: Nov 16, 2023 8:33 pm

DIMAPUR — The former office bearers of the 31 Akuluto Mandal (Assembly Constituency) Committee of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) formally joined Congress on Wednesday.

According to a press note, the former office bearers, who had earlier resigned just before the 2023 assembly polls, joined the party en bloc in the presence of Capt. GK Zhimomi, Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee (NPCC) vice president, and Vikato Zhimomi, president of Zunheboto District Congress Committee, at Akuluto town, Nagaland.

“The fact that this is happening in a constituency that sent the BJP candidate unopposed to the legislative assembly just a few months back says a lot about the utter disillusionment of the people towards the BJP,” the note issued by the party’s communications department read.

It further added that this will act as a huge morale booster for the rank and file of the Congress party, with general elections right around the corner.

Also read: NPCC flags irregularities between records and realities of projects

By EMN Updated: Nov 16, 2023 8:33:13 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS