Election juggernaut rolls out for LS, by-elections - Eastern Mirror
Thursday, February 02, 2023

Election juggernaut rolls out for LS, by-elections

By EMN Updated: Apr 10, 2019 1:05 am
Polling personnel in Kiphire district move out for their assigned polling stations. They were dispatched to regional polling areas from Kiphire on April 9, the IPR reports.

Dimapur, April 9 (EMN):
Nagaland is ready to vote in the 17th Lok Sabha elections for 2019; and the by-elections to the 26th Aonglenden assembly constituency seat in Mokokchung district. On Tuesday, April 9, election personnel were being dispatched to their polling stations and election logistics being put in place.

The government publicity agency, the Information and Public Relations department (IPR), issued updates on Tuesday informing about the preparations for the elections. The establishment of the chief electoral officer of Nagaland also issued similar updates on April 9.

CEO Abhijit Sinha has informed that 325 polling parties have left for their designated polling stations throughout the state.

These polling parties, dubbed the P-2, were dispatched on account of their polling stations being ‘very far from the district headquarters,’ the updates stated.

‘He added that these polling parties will be reaching their respective polling stations either late night today or early morning tomorrow.’

Further, the election establishment took note that there was heavy rain across the state ‘but it did not cause any problem as all the routes remained open hence there was no problem with the movement of the polling parties.’

Further, the establishment informed that every district was keeping “JCBs” (excavators) and other machineries on standby ‘just in case some roads get blocked and need to be opened for the movement of the polling parties.’

Some districts are stated to have completed on April 9 the last and final training programmes for polling personnel. It was also mentioned that all the vehicles of the sector officers carrying the reserve electronic voting machines and voter’s verifiable paper audit trail machines had been fitted with GPS. Further, the movement of these vehicles are being monitored both at the district level and by the state’s election establishment, the updates stated.

“He informed that all the remaining polling parties will leave for the polling stations tomorrow and all the arrangements regarding the same have been made,” the IPR added.

Basic information on voting
The CEO also gave tips and a guide to voters.
Find Polling booth (where to vote)
 Voters can go to ‘electoralsearch.in’ or use Voter Helpline App to find their polling booth
 Voters can call the Voter Helpline, the number is 1950 (please add your STD code before dialling)
 For Polling station location SMS <ECIPS> space <EPIC No> to 1950

Mobile phones, cameras and any other gadget are not allowed inside a polling booth, the election establishment stated.
Identity Card
‘Voter ID’ card is not compulsory, the CEO stated. Voters can carry any of these recognised ID cards for polling:
 EPIC (Voter’s ID card)
 Passport
 Driving license
 Service identity cards with photograph issued to employees by central/state govt./PSU/public limited companies
 Passbooks with photograph issued by bank/post office
 PAN card
 Smart card issued by the RGI under NPR
 MNREGA job card (Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee)
 Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme of Ministry of Labour
 Pension document with photograph
 Official identity cards issued to members of Parliament, legislative assemblies, and legislative councils.
 Aadhaar card

The final round of “randomisation of polling personnel,” who will be engaged in the 17th Lok Sabha elections for 13th Pughoboto assembly constituency in Zunheboto district, was held on April 9. The programmes were conducted at the government high school of Pughoboto, and DB court, the IPR stated.

ADC and DEO K.Mhathung Tsanglao emphasised on the importance of the EPIC and other 11 documents and said voters will be allowed those who will be producing one of those documents as per the ECI guidelines.

He reminded the Presiding officers and the polling personnel to keep in their mind that No Voters should be shown as having voted on the production of photo voters slip.

He said, the ECI is giving much importance for the welfare of PWDs and in Pughoboto 22 polling stations have been provided with such facilities and therefore he urged the presiding officers to take necessary stock of the same. EVMs and VVPATs was demonstrated during the last round training.

The third and final round of training for second polling officers and third polling officers for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections was held on April 8 at the council hall of Mon, the IPR informed.

The nodal officer for training, Alongse Sangtam and other trainers imparted training on the use of electronic voting machines, and voter’s verifiable paper audit trail etc. A similar training was held at the DRDA conference hall in Mon, the IPR stated.

Altogether 395 polling officials have moved out on April 9 from the district headquarters Wokha town. The polling parties moving out today comes under P-2 polling stations category; 77 polling stations for 40th Bhandari assembly constituency, and two polling stations for 39th Sanis assembly constituency, the IPR informed.

130 vehicles, both light and medium vehicles, will be carrying the polling personnel at different polling stations in Wokha district, the updates stated.

“A total of 100, 567 voters will be exercising their franchise from 208 polling stations across Wokha district. Remaining 129 polling stations comprising of 645 polling officials will be moving out tomorrow the 10th April 2019,” the IPR stated.

Twenty-two polling parties have departed on April 9 to their respective polling station in Peren district.

The presiding and polling officials including security personnel and vehicles are ready for the final departure on April 10, the IPR stated.

The district election officer for Dimapur Kevekha Kevin Zehol has issued the schedule for polling parties to be dispatch to their stations.

The administration informed personnel of polling parties for Dimapur district that they are to be dispatched according to this schedule:
1. 5-Ghaspani-II : 8:00am
2. 4-Ghaspani-I : 9:00 am
3. 3-Dimapur-III : 11:00 am
4. 2-Dimapur-II : 12:00 noon
5. 1-Dimapur-I : 1:00 pm

All the polling parties are informed to report at the specific time on April 10 to the State Stadium, Oriental Colony, in Dimapur.

By EMN Updated: Apr 10, 2019 1:05:27 am