Tuesday, December 06, 2022

Eight candidates in fray for two assembly seats in Nagaland

By Our Correspondent Updated: Oct 17, 2020 7:54 pm

Our Correspondent
Kohima, Oct. 17 (EMN):
The bye-elections to the 60-Pungro-Kiphire and 14-Southern Angami-1 assembly constituencies will be conducted on November 3 with eight candidates in the fray for the two vacant seats.

Five candidates will contest in 60-Pungro-Kiphire and three in 14-Southern Angami-I.

Five candidates — one each from Indian National Congress (INC) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and three independent candidates — went through the scrutiny round on Saturday for the seat of 60-Pungro-Kiphire assembly constituency.

Khaseo Anar of INC, Lirimong Sangtam of BJP and three independent candidates — S Kiusumew Yimchunger, Shellumthong Yimchunger and T Yangseo Sangtam — qualified for Pungro-Kiphire A/C bye-poll.

Lithriyem Dupongle withdrew his candidature. It was learnt that he was substituting for an independent candidate.

Meanwhile, three candidates — Kikovi Kirha of Naga People’s Front (NPF), Medo Yhokha of Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and Seyievilie Peter Zashumo, an independent candidate — will fight for the 14-Southern Angami-I assembly seat.

The last date for withdrawal of candidature is October 19.

Official sources informed that scrutiny for 14-Southern Angami-I A/C was conducted by Ruopfukuotuo Noudi, returning officer (SDO), Jakhama in Kohima, in the presence of observer, SK Pradhan, secretary (protocol) Home department of Sikkim and all the political agents.

The scrutiny for Pungro-Kiphire bye-poll was conducted by Nyempo Walking, ADC and returning officer, in the presence of Dev Raj Dev, an IAS officer from Tamil Nadu.

By Our Correspondent Updated: Oct 17, 2020 7:54:56 pm