Friday, August 19, 2022
Nagaland Sports

Dr. T Ao Trophy from April 12

By EMN Updated: Apr 01, 2021 7:36 pm

Dimapur, April 1 (EMN): The fixture for the forthcoming 21st Inter District Football Championship, also known as Dr. T Ao Trophy, was drawn at Hotel Vivor, Kohima on Thursday.
The championship has been scheduled for April 12 to the 19th at Indira Gandhi Stadium in Kohima.
An updateon Thursday informed that the championship is being organised by Nagaland Football Association (NFA) in collaboration with department of Youth Resources and Sports, Nagaland.
It said that the championship will be conducted on league- cum- knock out system.
Phek, Peren and Tuensang are in Group A; Zunheboto, Noklak and Kiphire in Group B; Dimapur, Mon and Wokha in Group C; and Kohima, Mokokchung and Longleng in Group D.
In the league system, there will be four matches played daily from April 13 to the 15th.
Quarter finals will take place on April 16 while semi finals have been scheduled for April 17.
The grand finale will take place on April 19.
The champion will fetch a cash prize of INR 3 lakh while runner- up will receive INR 2 lakh.
Losing semi finalists will get INR 50,000 each.
NFA informed that IG Stadium has been declared as “plastic- free zone.’
IT said that NFA has insisted that SOP should be strictly maintained, besides adhering to Covid-19 appropriate behaviour including regular hand sanitisation, wearing mask, physical distancing should be maintained.
“As far as eligibility of players is concern, NFA stated that only an indigenous inhabitant of Nagaland state shall be allowed to represent their district team. Certificate which is dully certified by the district concern Deputy Commissioner shall be eligible to take part.
“If indigenous inhabitant players is not selected, then he can represent the district where he reside continuously for a period of two years.
“Any police personnel whose battalion is posted in that particular district are eligible to represent that district.
“In case of dispute regarding any players, the concerned team has to furnish documentary evidence in support of their list of players,” it informed.

It said that the fixture was drawn in the presence of NFA president K Neibou Sekhose, Directorate of Youth Resources and Sports (DYRS), joint director Teisobou Sekhose, DYRS technical committee member William Koso and journalists.

By EMN Updated: Apr 01, 2021 7:36:56 pm