DPON urges to retain Dhansiripar within Dimapur district - Eastern Mirror
Saturday, March 25, 2023

DPON urges to retain Dhansiripar within Dimapur district

By EMN Updated: Dec 27, 2021 9:41 pm

Dimapur, Dec. 27 (EMN): Dimasa Public Organisation Nagaland (DPON) has appealed to the state government to review its notification and retain Dhansiripar sub-division within Dimapur district in the larger interest of the people.

While endorsing the earlier press statement issued by the civil societies of Dhansiripar sub-division under the banner of Sema-Dimasa Union of Dhansiripar sub-division and the subsequent joint representation to the government, the Dimasa Organisations held an emergency meeting held on December 24 and resolved as to why Dimasa villages along with others have to remain in Dimapur district.

DPON claimed that the Dimasa community nurtured a strong emotional and inseparable attachment with Dimapur because of their historical past. It contended that merger of Dimasa villages of Dhansiripar sub-division with the Chümoukedima district and retaining Dimasa villages around Dimapur with Dimapur district would further marginalise the Dimasa into micro-minority.

To substantiate its claim, DPON stated that during the creation of Nagaland state, the visionary Naga leaders most unambiguously kept not only Dimasa in one constituency but also kept other communities such as Mech, Garos and Gorkhas under Dimapur-III constituency so as to protect their rights and privileges. It added that dividing those communities into fragmentation by putting them in different districts would ambiguously defeat the very concept of protecting the interest of the tribe envisioned by the founding leaders.

Stating that creation of districts, sub-divisions were invariably based on ethnicity ever since the inception of the state, DPON stated that Dimasa (Kachari) inhabited areas should not be divided into pieces.

Meanwhile, DPON) has congratulated the Rengma, Sümi and the Chakhro Angami communities for the newly created districts of Tseminyu, Niuland and Chümoukedima.

By EMN Updated: Dec 27, 2021 9:41:12 pm