Tuesday, October 04, 2022

DNSU decides not to encourage proposed bandh in Dimapur

By EMN Updated: Jun 05, 2019 12:39 am

ANCSU official’s communiqué announcing indefinite bandh goes viral 

Dimapur, June 4 (EMN): Capping off an evening of fast-paced developments, the Dimapur Naga Students’ Union on Tuesday decided “not to encourage” the bandh called by student groups in Dimapur and has asked business establishments, government offices and other public service agencies in the commercial hub to remain open.

In the wake of an ANCSU official on Tuesday emailing to the local press a letter addressed to the commissioner of police, Dimapur—bearing the names of 19 colleges in Dimapur—announcing an “indefinite peaceful bandh” in Dimapur from June 5 (which went viral instantly), the DNSU convened an emergency presidential meeting with its constituent units in the evening.

“After a thorough deliberation, the house unanimously resolved that the bandh proposed by 19 (sic) colleges of Dimapur on 5th June 2019 is without the knowledge of the Dimapur Naga Students’ Union and the house further decided that it shall not encourage the said indefinite bandh,” read a DNSU press release.

It declared that any student, individual or group spearheading the bandh or taking part in it would be held responsible in the event of any untoward incident.

“The union also extends its fullest support to the issues taken up by the ANCSU and further assure to render full cooperation towards the students’ welfare in the near future. But relating to the proposed indefinite bandh to be held on June 5 without proper consultation is a hasty step and the surprise indefinite bandh will affect the general public,” it stated.

Earlier in the day, the letter to the commissioner of police bore the names of Salt Christian College, Saku’s Mission College, City College of Arts & Commerce, Immanuel College, Public College of Commerce, Eastern Christian College, Dimapur Government College, Mount Mary College, St. John College, Patkai Christian College, JN Aier College, Tetso College, Pranabananda Women’s College,  SD Jain Girls College, Cornerstone College, MGM College, Yehmi College, Unity College, and Salesian College.

However, an email in the evening from Tetso College informed that it was not a signatory. “The student body is headed by the general secretary with the principal as the president of the student body and hence any signature on the Whatsapp forward we received claiming to be from Tetso College is without authorisation. Further, the college has disaffiliated from ANCSU,” it read.

Another email from Unity College sought the removal of its name from the list reasoning that its name cannot be used publicly without consulting the head of the institute who is the president of the students’ council.

By EMN Updated: Jun 05, 2019 12:39:09 am