Dimapur Lift Dr. T Ao Trophy 2022 - Eastern Mirror
Monday, April 22, 2024
Dimapur, Football

Dimapur lift Dr. T Ao Trophy 2022

By Imrongkumba Aier Updated: Apr 29, 2022 11:05 pm

CM says Nagaland will bid for National Games

1 2
1: Dr. T Ao Trophy 2022 Champions after the prize distribution ceremony in Mokokchung on Friday. (EM Images)

Our Correspondent
Mokokchung, April 29 (EMN):
The Dimapur District Football Association on Friday lifted the 22nd edition of the Dr. T Ao Inter-District Football Championship Trophy 2022 after defeating Mon District Football Association 2-0 in the final at Imkongmeren Sports complex in Mokokchung.

The 12-day sporting extravaganza, which started on April 18, concluded on Friday.

Mon fans came in big numbers to support the team, which had performed consistently well in this tournament, but the team failed to live up to the expectations in the final.

The teams failed to score in the first half, but Dimapur captain Kivi Zhimomi broke the deadlock a few minutes into the second half of the game by scoring a goal in the 59th minute from Kakhevi Assumi’s beautiful assist.

Assumi, who was in good form, wrapped up the game by making the score line 2-0 in the 84th minute.

With Friday’s victory, Dimapur had lifted Dr. T Ao Inter-District Football Championship Trophy for the third time.

Rio attends closing ceremony

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, who attended the closing ceremony of Dr. T Ao Trophy 2022, said the state has decided to bid for the National Games.

“I hope we will get an opportunity (to host the event),” he said.

Citing the Northeast Olympic and National Games to be held in Mizoram, Rio said the players participating in the inter-district event will undergo selection to play for the Nagaland state.

He said that Dr. T Ao Trophy is being held to inspire the youth; that the government cares for the youth and has come up with many policies on sports.

Admitting that the state is lagging behind in facilities, he said the government is trying its best to build sports infrastructure in all the districts.

Individual award winners

Player of the tournament: Kakhevi Assumi (Dimapur)
Best goalkeeper: Homuka (Dimapur)
Best defender: Sanyem Konyak (Mon)
Best midfielder: Toka Achumi (Dimapur)
Highest goal scorer: Yhunshalo Kemp (Tseminyu), scored 10 goals

By Imrongkumba Aier Updated: Apr 29, 2022 11:05:42 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS