Friday, January 28, 2022

Defending champions Barak FC opt out of NSF trophy

By Our Correspondent Updated: Sep 15, 2018 10:00 pm


Kohima, Sep. 15 (EMN): Three times champions Barak FC will not be taking part in the 19th edition of the Naga Students’ Federation (NSF) Martyrs’ memorial trophy, Eastern Mirror confirmed this news.

With the last date of registration fixed on September 15, Eastern Mirror contacted the defending champions Barak FC. Team manager of Barak FC Bappi Adhikari has confirmed this news to Eastern Mirror on Saturday evening that they will not be participating in this year’s edition.

When asked about the reason for backing out, team manager cited that the club would be focusing on grassroots level for U-17 team and also to participate in others tournaments outside the state. So they opted not to participate in this year’s edition.

Barak FC Peren have won NSF trophy three times during the 2014, 2015, and 2017. Last year Barak FC, Peren defeated defending champions Nagaland Police (Red) 2-1 in the final to emerge as the champions of the 18th edition of the NSF Martyr’s Memorial Trophy.

The annual football tournament organised by Angami Students’ Union (ASU) will kick off from September 22 and culminate on October 20 at Kohima local ground.


By Our Correspondent Updated: Sep 15, 2018 10:00:16 pm