Tuesday, November 29, 2022

Deck cleared for Nagaland by-poll

By EMN Updated: Oct 15, 2014 12:57 am


Principal Correspondent

Altogether 18,834 voters will decide the fates of NPF’s Dr. Neiphrezo Keditsu and BJP’s Visasolie Lhoungu in the by-election to Northern Angami-II A/C, which will be held on Wednesday from 7am to 4pm.
Out of the 18,834 voters, 9316 are male and 8516 are female voters. They would exercise their franchise in 39 polling stations spread over 30 villages of the constituency.
The polling station with the highest number of electorate is Chiechama Basa with 937 voters (M-463 and F-474) and the polling station with the lowest number of electorate is Tuophe-Phezou with just 58 (M-33 and F-25) voters.
Official sources revealed that everything including security arrangement and dispatching of EVMs and logistic materials for the smooth and peaceful conduct of the by-election have been put in place.
Police sources said that altogether seven companies of security personnel including that of four Central Paramilitary Forces and three IRB (NAP) companies would be deployed to maintain the law and order situation.
The four CPMF coys — two companies each of CRPF and BSF would be deployed for duties in polling stations while IRB companies– 11th IR, 13th IR and 15th IR (Mahila) would be deployed as striking force to thwart any unwanted situation.
The police sources also revealed that though there have been some minor incidents, presently things have been brought under control.
Meanwhile, 39 polling stations have been categorized as hyper sensitive (critical) – 11, vulnerable (sensitive) – 9 and 29 polling stations as normal.
Meanwhile, official sources revealed that after thorough checking of all the EVMs by EVM Engineer H. Chowdhury, the polling materials along with the personnel are now in the polling stations.
Transport-in-charge for the by-election, SDO (Sardar) Kohima Wennyie Konyak disclosed that altogether 140 vehicles are being utilized for the polling officials.
It may be noted here that the by-election is a straight contest between NPF’s Dr Neiphrezo Keditsu and BJP’s Visasolie Lhoungu. Both the candidates are first timers.
During the campaign period, which ended on Monday at 4 pm, NPF had brought in Lok Sabha MP from Nagaland, Neiphiu Rio, Chief Minister TR Zeliang and cabinet ministers as the star campaigners for the candidate while BJP had its National Secretary in charge of Nagaland and Ex-MP, Tapir Gao and BJP National spokesperson and MLA from Bihar, Rameshwar Prasad Chaurasia as the star campaigners.

By EMN Updated: Oct 15, 2014 12:57:28 am