Decisions based on money, power are Naga people's weakness, says Therie
Thursday, March 23, 2023

Decisions based on money, power are Naga people’s weakness, says Therie

By Purnungba Longkumer Updated: Jan 22, 2023 10:00 pm
Dr. Ajoy Kumar, K Therie and new office bearers in Dimapur on Sunday. (EM Images)

President of Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee (NPCC), K Therie, on Sunday said people need to vote against Citizen Amendment Act (CAA) and Uniform Civil Code to maintain their identity.

Therie went on to say that Naga people make decisions based on money and power and ‘this is their weakness’.

He was speaking during the induction of new office bearers of NPCC Minority Cell, Nagaland at District Congress Committee office, Dimapur.

Further, Therie stated that Nagaland is “too small” and cannot afford to be divided and lose article 371 (A) like Jammu and Kashmir and therefore urged the gathering to uphold the integrity of Nagaland.

He claimed that the ‘one-sided government and nepotism’ has been ‘running for 20 years in Nagaland’, adding that Congress has not surrendered and through the workers, they were going to grow. 

Also speaking at the induction programme, All India Congress Committee (AICC) Nagaland in-charge, Dr.  Ajoy Kumar said that the ‘easy part is to become an office bearer but the difficult part is to start working for the party’.

Kumar also encouraged the party members to ‘start getting active in the field’ keeping in view the upcoming election in Nagaland.

The new office bearers of NPCC minority department is headed by Chairman of NPCC Minority department, Sarif Ahmed; Vice Chairman (Muslim Community), Ata Tapadar; Vice Chairman (Bengali Community), Rajkumar Dey; Vice Chairman (Punjabi Community), Samsher Singh; State Coordinator, Social Media, NPCC Minority cell, Meikhomlung Rongmei; Secretary of Dimapur District, Minority cell, Suresh Jain; Assistant Secretary of District, Minority cell, Wahid Ali; Vice President of Chümoukedima District, Md. Sarfraj Alam; President of District Minority Cell, Kohima, Shakti Paswan; and Secretary of District Minority Cell, Kohima, Dilip Kumar and Sonu Komar.

By Purnungba Longkumer Updated: Jan 22, 2023 10:00:50 pm