Tuesday, December 06, 2022

DC Kohima seeks cooperation of pol parties for free and fair bye-poll

By EMN Updated: Oct 09, 2014 12:48 am


A meeting of the political parties and contesting candidates for the 11th Northern Angami-II A/C bye-elections was held at the DC’s chamber today. Deputy Commissioner & District Election Officer, Kohima, W. Honje Konyak who chaired the meeting in the presence of both the candidates Neiphrezo Keditsu (NPF) and Visasolie Lhoungu (BJP) said that everything has been arranged for the elections in 39 polling stations with the total votes 18,834 out of which 9,316 are males and 9,518 are females. He told both NPF and BJP parties that the priority is to conduct free and fair election with peaceful atmosphere.
The DC while reminding them that they should know the role of political parties which he said is very important, he also urged them to cooperate with the officials so as to bring 100% success. He also apprised the meeting not to destroy the village institution and the need to make the villagers be aware what election is to them.
In case of any apprehension and complaints during the election period, he asked the candidates to report and submit the matter to the nearest locality authorities or DC or SP Kohima.
Principal Secretary & CEO, West Bengal Human Rights Commission, Laima Chozah IAS (Mizoram) who has vast experiences as General Observer for the last 16 times all over India also shared his views in the meeting.
“Being a Christian state, I expect the election to be conducted smoothly and further to follow the rules and guidelines of election manuals,” he said adding that this is the first time he has been appointed as an Observer in Nagaland.
Joint Commissioner of Income Tax, T. James Singson, IRS, who is the Election Expenditure Observer for the bye-elections said that all the political parties should maintain the election incurred expenditures in the registers which could be inspected and checked by his assistants three times.
The election expenditures should be twenty lakhs as per the Election Commission of India guidelines. Singson said that whatever the expenditure incurred should be withdrawn from their Bank Account. He informed the political parties that after the election result is declared they should lodge /submit the registers to the DEO within 30 days excluding the counting day.
SP Kohima Joseph Hesso said for security measures all the polling station survey has been done and arrangements have been made to depute central security forces along with the Nagaland police. This time seven striking forces will be there in all Polling stations. Checking and movement of vehicles will be done day by day in order to secure the safety of the public, he said. Three categories namely, Hyper sensitive/critical, sensitive/vulnerable and Normal Polling station/location has been listed to tighten the security.
As per the last date of Nomination and corresponding to the Authentic Copy of the Roll to be supplied to polling stations for use as marked copy, the highest electorate’s vote’s polling station is Chiechama Basa with total votes of 937 votes (M-463, F-474) and the lowest polling station is Tuophe- Phezou with total no. 58 (M-33, F-25) votes.
AEO Kohima R. Mhathung Ngullie and SDO Sardar Wennyie Konyak also highlighted on the election Code of conduct, rules and guidelines.

By EMN Updated: Oct 09, 2014 12:48:21 am