Wednesday, December 08, 2021

CPI Manipur unit secretary named common candidate for LS polls

By EMN Updated: Jan 21, 2014 10:55 pm

IMPHAL, January 21

[dropcap]T[/dropcap]he Communist Party of India (CPI) Manipur unit secretary Dr Moirangthem Nara has been named as the common candidate of the 10 political parties for the forthcoming 16th Lok Sabha polls.
The ten political parties are All India Forward Bloc,Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP), Communist Party of India (Marxist), Janata Dal (U), Janata Dal(S), Shiva Sena (SS), Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) and Nationalist Congress Party. Dr Nara will be contesting from the Inner Manipur parliamentary constituency.
The step has been taken to send a common candidate for non-Congress and non-BJP front in Manipur, said Communist Party of India (Marxist) leader Sarat Salam while speaking to media persons during a gathering at the Irabot Bhavan in Imphal this afternoon. “The common candidate for the Outer Manipur parliamentary constituency will be announced within a short span of time in the second phase,” he added.So far, some of the interested persons have applied for the Outer parliamentary seat, sources added.
It may be worth mentioning here that the an in-house meeting of the representatives of the ten political parties were held in this regard at the residence of Communist leader Salam Yaima at Singjamei Chongtham Leikai in Imphal on January 19.
Manihar Goswami of JD(S), M Tombi of JD(U), L Seth of PDA, S Shamungou of SS, N Kavita of BSP, Khomdram Gyaneswor of All India Forward Bloc, N Ratan of RSP also attended the day’s media interaction cum party meet.
Meanwhile, Bharatiya Janata Party has already started its formal campaign by holding public meeting in the state. Dr RK Ranjan, Oinam Indira and few others are applying for the BJP tickets in the Inner Manipur parliamentary constituency while Prof Gangmumei Kamei for the Outer Manipur parliamentary seat. However, BJP and the ruling congress are yet to name their respective candidates for the ensuing Lok Sabha polls.
Dr T Meinya and Thangso Baite of Congress won both the Inner and Outer Manipur parliamentary seats in the last Lok Sabha polls.

By EMN Updated: Jan 21, 2014 10:55:18 pm