Congress Releases First List Of Candidates For Manipur Assembly Poll - Eastern Mirror
Sunday, June 23, 2024

Congress releases first list of candidates for Manipur assembly poll

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Jan 22, 2022 9:33 pm

Our Correspondent
Imphal, Jan. 22 (EMN):
The Congress party on Saturday released its first list of 40 candidates for the upcoming assembly election in Manipur.

Out of the 40 candidates listed in a press release issued by the General Secretary in-charge (Central Election Committee) of Congress, Mukul Wasnik, 12 are sitting MLAs, nine former legislators and 19 new faces.

The 12 sitting MLAs, who made it to the first list, include Congress Legislature Party leader Okram Ibobi Singh and his son Surjakumar Okram, Congress Working Committee member Gaikhangam, former PCC President TN Haokip, Manipur Congress Chief N Loken Singh, former Speaker Th Lokezshwar, and former ministers DD Thaisii, K Ranjit Singh and Km Akoijam Miraibai Devi.

Only three women were included in the first list of candidates.

The nine former legislators include Amin Shah, I Hemochandra, Dr. Kh Ratankumar, M Okendra, and T Manga Vaiphei. Former opposition firebrand O Joy, who had contested on BJP ticket in the last assembly election, is also in the list.

The 19 candidates in the first 40 list are all new faces except Lamtinthang Haokip of Saitu, who had contested in the last bye-elections from the same constituency in Kangpokpi district.

The election to the 60-member Manipur assembly will be held in two phases — on February 27 and March 3. Voting will take place in as many as 38 constituencies in the first phase and the remaining 22 constituencies in the second phase.

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Jan 22, 2022 9:33:34 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS