Wednesday, July 06, 2022

Congress president Sonia Gandhi appoints new Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee president

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Mar 31, 2022 9:29 pm

Our Correspondent

Imphal, March 31(EMN): Congress President Sonia Gandhi has appointed Keisham Meghachandra Singh as the new president of the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) and reconstituted the party’s state unit.

The forty-nine-year-old new state Congress chief is a four-time MLA from Wangkhem seat in Thoubal district since the 2007 election.

The MPCC president’s post was lying vacant after its previous president N Loken Singh resigned from the post (on March 16) a day after the AICC chief asked the party’s state unit chiefs of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur to put in their resignations to facilitate the reorganisation of the Pradesh Congress Committees.

It may be mentioned that Congress faced a massive defeat in all the five states where assembly elections were conducted recently. The grand old party lost to BJP in four states, while it also lost to AAP in Punjab.

The Congress party in Manipur fielded 53 candidates in the recently concluded election to the 60-member state Legislative Assembly 2022, but it suffered a massive loss and secured only five seats including former Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh, whereas Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 32 seats.

MPCC chief Loken, a five-time MLA also lost to BJP candidate Th Basanta from Nambol seat in Manipur.

In the recent past, MPCC had also launched an intensive membership enrolment drive in Manipur with a target of 3 lakh members.

Meanwhile in an effort to revamp the Congress party after losing the elections in five states, including Manipur, the party has also reconstituted the Manipur unit.

The Congress President has appointed president, working presidents, treasurer, vice presidents and approved the proposal of the constitution of the Executive Committee of Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee, AICC in a press release issued on Wednesday stated.

The four newly appointed working presidents are T Manga Vaiphei, Md Fajur Rahim, Victor Keishing and Kh Devabrata Singh while the five newly appointed vice presidents of the MPCC are Vidyapati Senjam, Alfred K Arthur, L Tilotama, Hareshwar Goshwami and Dr. Lamtinthang Haokip.

Th Lokeshwar Singh has been appointed as the new treasurer while senior party leaders Okram Ibobi Singh, Gaikhangam, TN Haokip, M Okendra, N Loken, Dr. Thokchom Meinya, Thangso Baite, I Hemochandra, DD Thaisii, T Mangibabu, AK Mirabai, Dr. Kh Ratankumar, O Joy and M Hemanta were appointed  as new executive members of MPCC.

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Mar 31, 2022 9:29:13 pm