Friday, December 03, 2021

‘Cong govt manipulating votes under services category’

By EMN Updated: Mar 26, 2014 11:01 pm

Newmai News Network
IMPHAL, March 26

Independent candidate of Inner parliamentary constituency Oinam Indira has alleged that votes under services category are being manipulated by the ruling Congress government in Manipur for long.
In a programme, Oinam Indira said armed police personnel, defence and people engaged foreign services come under this category but due to ignorance of the people the ruling Congress government has been manipulating their votes in its favour for a long time.
He also said there are 71,000 people from Manipur working outside the state but their voting has become proxy as the Congress government is manipulating it in its favour. She also said for the Inner seat alone, there are 2976 votes under the service category but the people are not made aware of it by the government.Oinam Indira said she went to the Returning Officer (RO) of the Inner Lok Sabha constituency to find out about the service votes but the officer directed her to go to the deputy commissioners. When she enquired about the matter from the deputy commissioners, they directed her to the RO. “How can things go one like this ?” she asked.
She later lodged a complaint about the matter with the Election Commission of India.
In the meantime, she managed to download the voters list of the service category from a website. But there has been no proper mention of the voters’ domiciles. She appealed the public to be aware of such development while lamenting that no one has raised such issue for years now though elections after elections are being held.

8 file papers for
Inner LS seat

Altogether eight candidates have filed their nomination papers for Inner Lok Sabha seat in Manipur.
On the last day of filing nomination papers today, Dr Khwairakpam Ibomcha of Aam aadmi Party has filed his nomination paper.
Polling for the Inner Lok Sabha seat is slated for April 17.
Earlier, Congress candidate and sitting MP Dr Th Meinya, Dr. M. Nara of CPI, Oinam Indira (Independent), BJP candidate Dr. R.K. Ranjan, Dr. G. Tonsana Sharma ofManipur Democratic People’s Front, Trinamool Congress candidate S Manaobi and Oinam Jotin of Jai Maha Bharath Party had filed their nomination papers for the seat.
Meanwhile, no candidate withdrew candidature for the Outer parliamentary constituency on the last day of withdrawal today. Altogether 10 candidates filed their nominations for the seat.
Amarson Santhil (Independent), Lallalmoi CPI(ML) and Khamchinpauzou alias K Zou of the Aam Aadmi Party, Prof Gangmumei Kamei (BJP), Thangso Baite (Congress), Kim Gangte (Trinamool), Mani Charenamei (Independent), Lien Gangte (Janata Dal-United), C Doungel (NCP and Soso Lorho (NPF) are the ten candidates to fight for the Outer Lok Sabha seat.

By EMN Updated: Mar 26, 2014 11:01:50 pm