Friday, January 28, 2022

Citizens’ group supports separate apex for Nagaland

By EMN Updated: Aug 25, 2019 11:15 pm

Rejects move to shift DC office to Chumu

Dimapur, Aug. 25 (EMN): The Dimapur District Citizens’ Forum has expressed support for a separate apex organisation for the tribes of Nagaland.
The organisation issued a press release to the media on Sunday informing about a number of resolutions it took during a recent meeting.
One of the resolutions also included community groups’ opposition to the government’s move to shift the deputy commissioner’s office complex to Chumukedima.

The Dimapur District Citizens’ Forum conducted its general meeting on the 24th of August, the updates stated.
After thorough deliberations, the organisation has unanimously taken a number of resolutions. The first of the group’s resolutions agreed to the ‘need’ for a new apex organisation for the tribes in the state.

“The house resolved to endorse the stand of Ao Senden, CNTC (Central Nagaland Tribes Council) and Tenyimia People Organisation which were earlier published in various local press medias on the need for a separate apex body for the tribes of Nagaland,” the press release stated.

The house also resolved that the office bearers and executive members shall visit the district hospital and other public service centres in Dimapur district at the earliest possible time, the updates stated.

‘The house also resolved to reaffirm the stand of various civil societies and communities of Dimapur against the shifting of the deputy commissioner’s office, Dimapur to Chumukedima village,’ the forum stated.

Further, the forum has approved a number of members to lead the organisation for the tenure 2019-2022. The members were nominated by the search committee that was set up, the note stated.

The new team of leaders are president Yibemo Kikon, vice presidents Khekuto Jakha and Meren Molier; general secretary Richard Haolai and finance secretary Chandu Agarwal.

Further, the forum has also empowered the new team to appoint one more vice president and an information/media secretary.

By EMN Updated: Aug 25, 2019 11:15:25 pm