‘Church Only Hope For Youth Of Nagaland’ - Eastern Mirror
Wednesday, July 24, 2024

‘Church only hope for youth of Nagaland’

By EMN Updated: Aug 27, 2020 10:00 am
CFD The newly Elected office bearers withthe Advisory and executive mebers of the CFD
The newly elected members of CFD at Bethesda AG Church, Walford in Dimapur on August 25.

Dimapur, Aug. 26 (EMN): The church is the only hope for spiritual, social and economical development of the Naga youth affected due to the pandemic, resource persons of a seminar held in Dimapur stated on Wednesday.

The seminar with the theme, “The role of the churches in combating unemployment in Nagaland with special reference to the present Covid-19 pandemic” was organised by the Christian Forum Dimapur (CFD) for pastors and church leaders on August 25 at Bethesda AG Church, Walford in Dimapur, an update from the forum informed.

To bring positive changes in Nagaland and hope to the Naga youth, the speakers challenged the CFD to lead and take initiative.

The resource persons were: Rev. Fr. Paul Maipan, director of Vocational Training Center, Dimapur; Prem Kumar, Pinnacle Training Institute, Dimapur; and Rev. Fr. Roy, director of Aida, Dimapur.

They expressed the role of the churches as the most important platform in providing developmental skills to young people of Nagaland who have lost their jobs during the Covid- 19 pandemic.

The speakers shared about various avenues and areas where youths can take training and equip them with jobs after the training. They also encouraged the pastors and church leaders to send youths of their church to different skill development centres with job placement opportunities.

In the second session, general body meeting-cum-election of the new office bearers was held under the chairmanship of Rev. Moses Murry.

Rev.Dr. C P Anto presented the CDF ministry report for the year 2018-2020, highlighting all the activities especially the recent Covid-19 pandemic relief services.

The chairman tabled the forum amended constitution for the general body approval and the members accepted it unanimously.

Rev. Dr. N Paphino extended appreciation to the former CFD office bearers for their tireless effort and contribution towards the society.

The newly selected members for 2020 – 2023 are: Rev. Moses Murry – chairman; Rev. Vitoshe Swu -vice chairman; Rev. Dr. C P Anto – secretary; Rev. Vangpong Phom – joint secretary; Rev. T Ariba Imchen – treasurer; Rev. Kele Angami – finance secretary; and Yanpemo Lotha – information secretary.

Altogether, 42 pastors and church leaders from different churches attended the programme.

By EMN Updated: Aug 27, 2020 10:00:00 am
Website Design and Website Development by TIS