Friday, December 03, 2021

Ceasefire with NSCN-K extended for one more year

By EMN Updated: Apr 30, 2014 1:13 am


THE government of India and armed Naga underground group NSCN (Khaplang) has extended the ceasefire between them in New Delhi, on Tuesday, April 29. The preceding tenure of ceasefire between the two expired on April 27.
The peace pact is in operation between the government of India and National Socialist Council of Nagaland (Khaplang) for last 13 years and its validity was reviewed today. On November 14, 1998, the Union Government of India announced a ceasefire with the NSCN-K for two months from November 15, 1998, to January 15, 1999. Since then, the ceasefire between the two have been renewed every year. The Ministry of Home Affairs issued a press release on Tuesday informing that the central government and the armed group had extended the ceasefire by a period of one year.
“It was decided by the Government of India to extend the ceasefire with NSCN-K for a further period of one year with effect from April 28, 2014,” the Ministry stated in the press release.
The agreement was signed on behalf of the government by Joint Secretary in the Home Ministry, Shambhu Singh, and supervisor, Cease Fire Supervisory Board of NSCN-K, Y Wangtin.
The government has entered into truce with the other dominant Naga insurgent group NSCN-IM in 1997 and since then more than 80 rounds of talks were held between the Centre and NSCN led by outfit’s Chairman Isak Chishi Swu and General Secretary Thuingaleng Muivah without concrete outcome in the last 16 years of truce.
Prior to signing of the ceasefire with the NSCN (I-M) in July 31, 1997, the Centre had assured the outfit that it would not engage in dialogue with other Naga outfits and stated that the NSCN (I-M) was the only legitimate Naga group.
The NSCN-K has been arguing that it is the only legitimate outfit which can represent Nagas living in India and Myanmar but the Centre was not willing to engage in dialogue with S S Khaplang, who is a Burmese national.
The outfit has two designated camps in India-one at Suruhoto in Zunheboto district and the other in Mon district.
(With inputs from PTI)

By EMN Updated: Apr 30, 2014 1:13:17 am