Thursday, July 07, 2022

BJP unit instates district presidents as District Returning Officers representatives

By EMN Updated: Dec 27, 2016 10:58 pm

Dimapur, Dec. 27: Following the state’s Election Commission notifying about the municipal and town council elections, the Nagaland unit of the BJP has authorised a number of its district presidents to represent the unit to the district returning officers in their respective district and coordinate on election matters.

“The district presidents shall be the party’s representative of district election related committees of the Election Commission. The list of candidates to be submitted shall however be on the final approval of the BJP state election office,” the BJP stated in a note to the media on Tuesday.

The district presidents are to contact the district returning officers for further information. The representatives are: L Bendang (BJP, DImapur district), Ajoy Phom (BJP, Longleng), Thangse (BJP, Tuensang), Meribemo (BJP, Wokha), Hobbs Thonger (BJP, Kiphire), Shikuto (BJP, Zunheboto), Dr. Khriezovolie (BJP, Kohima), Nucutso Roho (BJP, Phek), Huzantadbo Meriam (BJP, Peren), Nyawang Konyak (BJP, Mon), and L Temsu (BJP, Mon).

“All the presidents of mandals, wards and respective frontals are directed to coordinate with the district presidents immediately and prepare the list of candidates to be submitted to the BJP state for finalisation and approval,” the note stated.

The mandal presidents of “electoral political districts” as notified by the election commission should also immediately coordinate with the respective designated returning officers, the unit stated.

By EMN Updated: Dec 27, 2016 10:58:11 pm