BJP Ministers, MLAs denied ticket for Assembly polls - Eastern Mirror
Saturday, March 25, 2023

BJP Ministers, MLAs denied ticket for Assembly polls

By IANS Updated: Mar 18, 2019 10:32 pm

Itanagar, March 18 (IANS): All seems to be not well in the Arunachal Pradesh BJP, just ahead of the Lok Sabha and Assembly polls.

The general secretary of Arunachal Pradesh BJP, Jarpum Gamlin, resigned from the party on Monday after his name did not find a mention in the list of 54 candidates released by the BJP Parliamentary Board on Sunday evening.

Widely seen as a dynamic leader, Gamlin had been visiting interior parts of the state for months and was a contender for party ticket in Liromoba constituency.

“For sometime now I have been working closely with the public of Liromoba as a contender for Assembly elections. The party is well aware of this… After much thought I have decided that I cannot let down the expectations of my supporters who have reposed faith in me. I have therefore decided to resign from the primary membership of the BJP,” Gamlim wrote in his resignation letter sent to Arunachal Pradesh BJP President Tapir Gao.

The BJP on Sunday declared a list of 54 candidates for the 60-member Assembly. Two Ministers including Kumar Waii and Jarkar Gamlin and nine other MLAs could not find their names in the list, triggering near dissidence in the saffron party.

The party has given ticket to Goruk Pordung, replacing Home Minister Kumar Waii, from Bameng seat while Kento Jini has replaced Tourism Minister Jarkar Gamlin from Along East.

“I have lost my ticket as Chief Minister Pema Khandu considers me his contender. This is the reason they have rejected ticket to me,” said Kumar Waii.

JD(S) releases first list of candidates

The Janata Dal (Secular) has announced the names of 11 candidates for the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly election and one for Lok Sabha polls.

The JD(S) is for the first time contesting the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly election and in the two Lok Sabha seats in the state.

Former chief minister Gegong Apang, who is also the JD(S) convener for Northeast, will contest from Tuting-Yingkiong constituency in Upper Siang district, JD(S) state president Rokom Apang announced while releasing the first list of candidates here on Sunday.

The JD(S) has fielded Lama Lobsang Gyatso, a 39-year- old monk at the forefront of a movement against mega dams in Tawang district, from Mukto Assembly seat against Chief Minister Pema Khandu.

This will be the first time since 2004 that the Mukto Assembly seat would witness a contest.

The other candidates fielded by the party are – Tsering Dorjee (Tawang), Wangshu Wangsu (Longding-Pumao), Wangmaan Lowangcha (Khonsa East), Dr Rima Taipodia (Likabali), Nyadar Loya (Aalo West), Tapang Taloh (Pasighat West), Takam Paleng (Lekang), Shotike Hopak (Namsai) and Pike Pulu from Bordumsa-Diyun assembly constituency.  Bandey Mili would be the JD(S) candidate for the Arunachal East Parliamentary seat.

By IANS Updated: Mar 18, 2019 10:32:08 pm