BJP-led Manipur govt. vying for lone Independent MLA - Eastern Mirror
Sunday, June 11, 2023

BJP-led Manipur govt. vying for lone Independent MLA

By Our Correspondent Updated: Nov 12, 2020 10:53 pm
Y Antas Khan from Lilong constituency being sworn in on Thursday. (EM Images)

Our Correspondent
Imphal, Nov. 12 (EMN):
Four newly elected candidates, including three from the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) elected in the bye-elections to Manipur state legislative assembly were sworn in as members of legislative assembly on Thursday.

The newly elected MLAs are O Lukhoi from Wangoi constituency (BJP), Ngamthang Haokip from Saitu constituency (BJP),Paonam Brojen from Wangjing-Tentha constituency (BJP) and Y Antas Khan from Lilong constituency (Independent).

Manipur assembly Speaker Yumnam Khemchand administered the oath of office at the newly inaugurated conference hall of Annexe building of Manipur assembly premises around 1.30 pm in Imphal in the presence of Chief Minister N Biren Singh and his ministers, MLAs besides MP.

Speaking to reporters after the oath taking ceremony, Singh said that his government is inviting the lone independent candidate to join and support the BJP-led government, but added that it depends on the independent member.

On the other hand, Independent MLA Antas Khan said that he would take a decision whether to support or not after taking opinions of his supporters in Lilong constituency.

In the recently concluded bye-elections to the five assembly constituencies, BJP won four seats while Independent got one seat in Thoubal district.

Ahead of polling, BJP candidate Ginsuanhau had already won the Singhat seat in Churachandpur district after his rival candidate withdrew his nomination papers.

Opposition Congress which contested in the four Assembly constituencies–Lilong,Saitu,Wangjing-Tentha and Wangoi– drew blank.

Last week, BJP candidate M Rameshwar, who had secured the second place in the 2017 Assembly polls, was sworn in as an MLA after the election of Congress candidate Y Surchandra from the same constituency was declared null and void by the High Court.

With the election of more BJP candidates, the party’s total strength in the 60-member Manipur assembly which currently has an effective strength of 53 members, has increased to 23 while opposition congress has 17, four each of NPP and Naga People’s Front, two Independent, one each of Lok Janshakti Party, Trinamool Congress and an unattached member.

The BJP-led coalition government in Manipur came to power in March 2017 with support of four MLAs each from NPP and NPF besides one MLA each from TMC, Lok Janshakti Party, and an Independent.

By Our Correspondent Updated: Nov 12, 2020 10:53:07 pm