BJP Chief Nadda Welcomes Five Manipur JD (U) MLAs - Eastern Mirror
Friday, June 21, 2024

BJP chief Nadda welcomes five Manipur JD (U) MLAs

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Sep 04, 2022 9:34 pm
BJP Manipur
JP Nadda with the five JD (U) legislators from Manipur who merged with the BJP in New Delhi, on Sunday.

Our Correspondent

Imphal, Sep. 4 (EMN): The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Jagat Prakash Nadda on Sunday accorded warm welcome to the five Janata Dal (United) MLAs of Manipur after they merged with the BJP.

The five MLAs are Khumukcham Joykisan Singh of Thangmeiband constituency, Ngursanglur Sanate of Tipaimikh constituency, Md Achab Uddin of Jiribam constituency, Thangjam Arunkumar of Wankhei constituency LM Khaute of Churachandpur constituency.

With the merger, Md Abdul Nasir representing Lilong constituency has become the lone JD (U) MLA in the state assembly.

Sharing a group photograph of the MLAs in a tweet on Sunday, JP Nadda wrote “I welcome the five JDU MLAs from Manipur into the @BJP4India family. All of you possess qualities that will greatly benefit our party. I am certain you will all serve the nation diligently as members of the BJP & play your role in the development of the country.”

Earlier sharing a short video in a tweet on Sunday, chief minister Biren Singh also wrote, “With great joy, Shri @JPNada Ji, President @BJP4India heartily welcome the 5 JDU MLAs who got merged into BJP recently, at his office today. At the ceremony I was joined by State Prabhari, Shri @sambitswaraj Ji & BJP State Unit President,Smt. @AShardaDevi Ji.”

The welcome function was held at the office of the BJP national President in New Delhi.

On Saturday, Biren Singh along with BJP Manipur Pradesh president, A Sharda Devi, also accorded welcome to the five MLAs.

Five out six JD (U) MLAs in Manipur merged with the BJP amidst the report that JD (U) had started its process to back out of the BJP-led coalition government in the Northeastern state. With the merger, BJP’s strength in the house of 60 members stands at 37.

It may be noted that Manipur Legislative Assembly speaker had accepted merger of the five JD (U) legislators with BJP Legislature Party under the tenth schedule of the Constitution of India, a bulletin released on Friday stated.

On Friday, when asked about the report of withdrawing support from the BJP-led government in Manipur, a JD (U) MLA prior to his departure to Delhi told the media at Bir Tikendrajit International Airport that a decision will be taken within a day or two.

Earlier president of JD (U) Manipur state unit, Ksh Biren Singh, said that the party has started its process to back out of the BJP-led coalition government in Manipur. The JD (U) which won six seats in the last assembly elections in Manipur, emerged as the third largest party after BJP which won 32 seats and National People’s Party which won 7 seats.

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Sep 04, 2022 9:34:14 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS