Basayi Keyho Is Champion Of PWA Wrestling Meet 2024 - Eastern Mirror
Wednesday, February 28, 2024
Nagaland Sports

Basayi Keyho is champion of PWA Wrestling Meet 2024

By EMN Updated: Jan 13, 2024 9:23 pm
Basayi Keyho
Basayi Keyho along with others winners, PWA officials and management officials at Phek village on Saturday. (Image source: PWA)

DIMAPUR — Basayi Keyho emerged as the champion of the 46th Wrestling Meet of Phek Wrestling Association (PWA) held at Phek village on Saturday.

The winner walked away with a cash prize of INR 35,000 sponsored by Vepalu Khesoh in memory of her husband late Zhosheto Khesoh, while runner-up Johi Rhakho was awarded INR 20,000, which was sponsored by Vepichi Keyho, VDB secretary Phek, updated the organisers.

The third prize went to Hashe-o Venuh, for which he was awarded INR 15,000 sponsored by Thupuve Vero, president of Phek Village Youth Organisation, while fourth place winner Munuhu Venuh INR 10,000, sponsored by Khosapa Venuh, president of Phek District Congress Committee.

In the 3rd Wrestling Meet for under-16 category, Kuluthi Venuh bagged the champion title, for which he was awarded INR 15,000 (sponsored by Besunieyi Nienu, vice president of Phek Farmers Club), while Eveto Rhakho received INR 10,000 (sponsored by Khrievizo Keyho, ABSI DEF Phek) for the second position, Muziyi Chizo received INR 8000 (sponsored by PWA former champion Mudonieyi Chizo) for the third place, and INR 7000 (Shekhota Vero, finance secretary Phek District Veteran’s Football Association) for fourth position holder Dzuthoku Keyho.

In B-Team category, Thupumutu Chizo, Neyi Vero, Dumi Huire and Muzhi Keyho bagged 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th positions respectively, according to the update.

Chivozo Soho, chairman of Phek Village Council, gave away the prizes to the winners during closing ceremony.

Earlier in the inaugural session, Leader of NPF Legislature Party, Kuzholuzo (Azo) Nienu urged the wrestlers to have willpower, tolerance, patience and sincerity in order to excel, and never let down parental aspiration.

He also lauded Phek village, which has produced Nagaland Wrestling Association (NWA) champions — Hukhonieyi Soho and Vedeta Nienu – and Naga Open Wrestling Champion Surhoneyi Soho.

PWA president, Thuputhiyi Venuh delivered the presidential address, while PWA joint secretary Shede Soho administered oath to the wrestlers.

Also read: Huluyi Vade-o retains Secheku wrestling title

By EMN Updated: Jan 13, 2024 9:23:47 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS