ASU Seniors FC win NSF MMT special edition - Eastern Mirror
Sunday, March 26, 2023
Nagaland Sports

ASU Seniors FC win NSF MMT special edition

By Our Correspondent Updated: Oct 03, 2020 9:15 pm

Our Correspondent

Kohima, Oct. 3 (EMN): The NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy has been suspended this year owing to the novel coronavirus pandemic.

The yearly edition is organised by Angami Students’ Union (ASU) under the aegis of Naga Students’ Federation (NSF) at Khuochiezie local ground in memory of Lt. Vikhozo Yhoshü and Lt. Kekuojalie Sachü.

In order to remember the two martyrs despite the unprecedented suspension, NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy special edition was organised by ASU under the theme, “Beyond Covid” at IG Stadium in Kohima on Saturday, wherein four exhibition matches were played.

Four teams — Naga Students’ Federation (NSF), Angami Students’Union (ASU), Angami Youth Organisation (AYO) and Angami Students’ Union (ASU) Seniors FC — vied for the “special edition 2020” title at the state astro-turf football field.

ASU Seniors FC claimed the championship trophy after defeating NSF 4-1 in the penalty shoot-out after ending their final match 1-1 tie.

During the tie-breaker, ASU Seniors FC scored four goals against a consolation goal scored by NSF.

Earlier during the regulation time, Medo Yhokha scored for ASU Senior FC while the equalising goal was scored by Dievi Yano for NSF making it 1-1 draw.

Meanwhile, ASU and AYO clashed with each other for the third position title, wherein the former defeated the latter by a margin of 4-2.

Earlier, playing the first match, NSF defeated ASU 4-2 via tiebreaker after both teams ended in a 1-1 draw during the regulation time.

Playing the second match, ASU Seniors FC beat AYO by a solitary goal. The all important goal for ASU Seniors FC came through the boots of Khrietuo Rupreo.

Ninoto Awomi, president of NSF attended the event as the event guest.

NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy, is a premier football tournament in Kohima.

ASU organised the 20th edition under the theme, “Goal For Peace,” last year wherein defending champions Centurion FC defeated Viswema FC in the final match.

By Our Correspondent Updated: Oct 03, 2020 9:15:02 pm