Wednesday, September 28, 2022

Assam ST constituencies gear up for assembly elections

By Vivian Longki Rongpi Updated: Mar 01, 2021 10:41 pm
Chandra Dhwaj Singha addressing journalists at the press conference at Circuit House.

Our Correspondent
Diphu, March 1 (EMN): With the declaration of Assembly elections for Assam by Election Commission of India, and for conduct of a free and fair elections in the two ST assembly constituencies i.e. Howraghat (ST) Assembly Constituency and Diphu (ST) Assembly Constituency in Karbi Anglong, Deputy Commissioner (DC) and Returning Officer (RO) Chandra Dhwaj Singha, convened a press conference at Circuit House on Sunday.

The RO informed journalists that with the notification of Assembly poll, all government hoardings and posters in front of government offices and on roadsides had been removed.

“1065 hoardings and posters has been removed,” he said. This time, the election meeting will be in 52 venues only for both Howraghat and Diphu LA constituencies to maintain Covid-19 protocol. 

“As in one polling station(PS) only 1000 voters can cast vote for an Auxillary PS has to be set-up”, RO said.

He also informed that one contesting candidate can utilise not more than INR 30, 80,000 for election purposes.

“The money to be used for election should have a joint account by both the candidate and his/her election agent. Money should be transferred through cheques and if want to use cash should not exceed more than INR 20,000. Candidate can keep money only upto INR 50,000. The expenditure by candidates will be monitored by Election Commission,” the RO said.   

The RO also informed that voters of 80 years and above and person with disabilities (PwD) and Covid-19 positive patients can take the help of postal ballot paper. The BLOs will visit their homes to cast vote through ballot paper. If the BLOs don’t find the person during the first time, they will visit for the second time to get the person. For Howrgahat and Diphu LA constituencies, in order to facilitate women voters, polling stations will have women staff subject to approval of election commission of India, Singha said.

Singha also added there are 17,000 first time voters in Diphu and Howraghat LA constituencies. In 19-Diphu (ST) LAC there are 258 PS and 47 Auxiliary PS, which means in 305 PS will cast vote. There are total 98802 male voters and 98215 female voters and other voters. Voter of 80 years and above-1530, PwD – 180, service voters-280 and D voters are 505.

In 18-Howraghat (ST) LAC there are 167 PS and 28 Auxiliary PS, which means in 195 PS will cast vote. There are  65467 male voters and 66349 female voters and other voter 1. Voters with 80 years and above – 1007, PwD- 103, service voters -119 and D voters are 418, the RO informed. 

By Vivian Longki Rongpi Updated: Mar 01, 2021 10:41:29 pm