Amigos FC are new champion of Frolic Cup - Eastern Mirror
Wednesday, February 08, 2023

Amigos FC are new champion of Frolic Cup

By EMN Updated: May 04, 2019 10:26 pm
Members of Amigos FC posing with the champions’ trophy on May 4 at the Medziphema local ground.

Dimapur, May 4 (EMN): Amigos FC became champions of Frolic Cup after beating Fury FC 2-0 in the final on Saturday, May 4 at the Medziphema local ground.

Despite the slippery conditions due to rain, the crowds were not disappointed as both the team fought for every ball. Midfielders were hard at work to dominate the play and it was in the 15th minute when the Khriese of Amigos broke the deadlock. The lead was very fragile as Fury FC continued with their counter-attack.

The second half continued with a determined Fury FC trying to make a comeback but lacked the finishing touches. Amigos FC failed to increase their lead when their striker was bought down in the D-Box and was awarded a spot kick. A fine save by the keeper kept their chances alive. In the 63rd minute, Amigos FC striker Khriese found the net again with a fine strike from inside the box. The remaining match saw Amigos FC dominate the match till the final whistle.

Earlier, Er.Daniel Kevie, Sub-Divisional Officer PWD (R&B) Pfutsero Division attended the closing function as the special guest. In his speech, Kevie lamented the years that was lost in producing athlete in all fields though we are blessed with talent. And that it is time for the Nagas’ to walk the talk. Citing our laziness and lack of discipline as our greatest weakness, Kevie encouraged the players to come out from it and make a mark in the field they choose. He concluded his speech with a challenge to every Naga to be selfless and supportive for a better society.

Individual prizes:

Best goalkeeper: Seketuo (Green Hill Club)

Best midfielder: Kito (Thunderbolt FC)

Best defender: Akhobu (Amigos FC)

Highest scorer: Khriese Terhuja

Player of the tournament: Rhietso Meru (Fury FC)

By EMN Updated: May 04, 2019 10:26:40 pm