ACYA Organises Vikepelhu Lucas Memorial Trophy Volleyball Tournament - Eastern Mirror
Thursday, April 18, 2024
Nagaland Sports

ACYA organises Vikepelhu Lucas Memorial Trophy volleyball tournament

By EMN Updated: May 22, 2023 10:17 pm
Angami Catholic Women Association with womens volleyball finalists
Angami Catholic Women Association with women’s volleyball finalists.

Dimapur: The Angami Catholic Youth Association (ACYA) organised the inaugural edition of the Vikepelhu Lucas Memorial Trophy volleyball tournament on May 20 at St. Francis de Sales Hr. Sec. School Medziphema.

The tournament was organised in memory of the association’s first president and as part of preparations for its golden jubilee to be celebrated in January next year.

Attending the event as special guest, Johnny Ruangmei, President of Catholic Association of Nagaland, and Joint Chief Executive Officer of Nagaland State Disaster Management Authority,  recalled the memory of Vikepelhu Lucas and his dedication to his faith and sincerity in his works.

Ruangmei spoke on the significance of uniting under the umbrella of an association or group. He encouraged the youths to endeavour together for more such events which will boost the bond among them and in turn strengthen the association.

A note of tribute to late Vikepelhu Lucas, who served as the Association’s President from 1975 until 1981, was spoken by Ruokuoneinuo Marina.

In the tournament, CYA St. Paul Church Phesama emerged as champion of men’s volleyball while CYA St. Francis Xavier Church Kidima was the champion in the women’s category. The runners-up were St. Francis de Sales Church, Medziphema in men’s category and St. Peter Church, Teyhama for women.

President of Angami Catholic Women Association (ACWA), Visazhünuo Carmila congratulated the youth from all participating teams for the grand tournament. She said the tournament revives the memory of Vikepelhu Lucas and urged the youth to continue to take him as a model in church service. She also exhorted the youth to make the best of their days and not waste their potential.

A total of 31 teams representing various villages and churches spread across districts of Dimapur, Chumukedima, Peren and Kohima, participated at the tournament.

By EMN Updated: May 22, 2023 10:17:39 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS