Friday, December 03, 2021

79 wrestlers to vie for 9th NWA Open Championship

By EMN Updated: Mar 11, 2015 9:43 pm

Our Correspondent

79 wrestlers will vie for the 9th Open Naga Wrestling Championship on March 12 at Khuochiezie Local Ground, Kohima. The one-day wrestling tournament is being organized by the Nagaland Wrestling Association (NWA) under the theme “Good wrestling encompasses brain & brawn.”What makes this year’s tournament more interesting is that, there are also wrestlers from the Ao community and neighbouring state Assam who will be making their debut at the NWA championship. Mention be made that there had been participants from the Lotha, Mao and Poumai tribes in the past NWA championships.
Out of the 79 wrestlers, 41 are from the Angami community, 27 from Chakhesang, 7 from Zeliang and one each from Poumai, Mao, Ao and Assam.
Among the wrestlers who will be vying for the title include reigning NWA Open Wrestling 2013 champion Pfusato Tetseo from Khulazu Bawe under Phek district. Veteran Angami wrestler Rokosielie Khawakhrie from Mezoma village, who stood second in the last NWA Open Championship, will also be out in arena once again after taking a break of two years.
Vezhopo Chüzho, 1st runner-up NWA championship 2014, Thepukhoyi, 4th position holder NWA 2014, Zasevikho Meyatsu, champion of Angami Open Wrestling 2015, Neitsilie Zhünyü, 1st runner-up of 3E King of the Ring 2014 and Vicita Khesoh, champion of 2014 3E Wrestle Mania Heavyweight category will also feature in tomorrow’s championship.
Some other prominent wrestlers include Rovihoulie Pier, 2nd runner-up ASA wrestling championship 2014, Zasituo Tsükrü, 1st runner-up Angami Open Wrestling 2015, Visevo Zashümo, fourth position holder ASA wrestling championship 2014, upcoming Chakhesang wrestler Venuzo Dawhuo and Nlumrai Zeliang, champion of Zeliang Wrestling championship 2014.
The champion will walk away with a cash award of Rs 1,50,000, sponsored by Isaac Kronu, Class-I contractor & suppliers, while the 1st runner-up will pocket a prize money of Rs 1,00,00, sponsored by Vevo Sapu, Director, art & culture department. The 3rd and 4th position winner win cash award of Rs 70,000 and Rs 50,000 respectively, sponsored by Zaveyi Nyekha, director, School Education and M.K. Mero, Commissioner & Secretary Industries & Commerce.
The losing quarterfinalists will also be given Rs 8,000 each, sponsored by Dr Neisatuo Mero, while the losing pre-quarterfinalists will be given Rs 4,000 each, sponsored by Atei-u Sekhose, entrepreneur.
The tournament will commence at 8.40 am and will be graced by Nagaland Legislative Assembly Speaker Chotisuh Sazo. All the wrestlers are asked to be seated by 8.30 am.
The guest of honour for the closing function is Khriehu Liezietsu, Parliamentary Secretary Youth Resources & Sports, NRE, MTF.

By EMN Updated: Mar 11, 2015 9:43:47 pm