DGP Rupin Sharma, 6 Other Cops From Nagaland To Receive President’s Medal - Eastern Mirror
Saturday, February 24, 2024

DGP Rupin Sharma, 6 other cops from Nagaland to receive President’s Medal

By Livine Khrozhoh Updated: Jan 25, 2024 9:51 pm
Police recruitment claim ‘not authentic’, says DGP
Rupin Sharma

DIMAPUR — On Republic Day, five Nagaland Police personnel and two Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) personnel from the state will be awarded the President’s Medal for their service.

According to a Ministry of Home Affairs update, the state’s recipients include Director General of Police (DGP) Rupin Sharma and Deputy Commandant General of the Home Guard, Civil Defence, and State Disaster Response Force (SDRF), Medozhalie Pienyu, who will receive the President’s Medal for Distinguished Service (PSM), for special distinguished record in service.

Similarly, Peter Shuya Angami, SDPO, Toshimongba Imchen, ABSI, and Archer Phyobemo, ABSI, from Nagaland Police will be awarded the Medal for Meritorious Service (MSM).

From the CRPF, Assistant Commandant Imlitoshi Jamir will be conferred Medal for Gallantry and Inspector/ GD (Mahila), T Elizabeht Lotha the Medal for Meritorious Service.

The MSM is awarded for valuable service characterised by resource and devotion to duty.

President’s Medal for Gallantry (PMG) and Medal for Gallantry (GM) are awarded on the ground of rare conspicuous act of gallantry and conspicuous act of gallantry respectively in saving life and property, or in preventing crime or arresting criminals, the risk incurred being estimated with due regard to the obligations and duties of the officer concerned.

The MHA update stated that, across the country, 1132 personnel of Police, Fire Service, Home Guard & Civil Defence and Correctional Service will be awarded gallantry/service medals.

By Livine Khrozhoh Updated: Jan 25, 2024 9:51:35 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS