Friday, July 01, 2022

51 teams confirm participation in 18th NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy

By Our Correspondent Updated: Sep 24, 2017 11:08 pm

Kohima, Sep. 24 (EMN): Altogether 50 teams from two states – Manipur and Nagaland have confirmed participation in the 18th edition martyr students’ memorial soccer championship in Kohima from September 26 to October 21.
Christened Naga Students’ Federation (NSF) Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy 2017 is a prestigious football tournament in Nagaland annual organised by Angami Students’ Union, ASU on the theme ‘Goal for Peace’, said organising committee convener Kezhazer and ASU President Visako Rino along with others while briefing media persons on the tournament at the local ground here this evening.
Nagaland Minister for PWD (Roads and Bridges), Dr. Neikiesalie Nicky Kire will grace the inaugural function of the tournament as the chief guest on Tuesday at 1PM.
The 51 teams, include 39 from Kohima, four from Dimapur, two from Phek and one each from Kiphire and Peren districts while four teams are from Manipur State, said Metevizo Sophie organizing committee member.
The inaugural match will be played between defending champions Nagaland Police DGP Team Red and New Reserve Youth Organisation.
Organising committee member Sedevikho said entry on the inaugural day will be free while special arrangements have been made for citizens and people with disabilities to witness the tournament.
He also informed that while there is entry fee of Rs 30 per head on other days students in uniforms will also be allowed free entry after school hours.
ASU President Rino has urged the spectators to maintain cleanliness of the galleries and also to avoid intoxicants during the tournament.
The 26-day long tournament is an annual feature of ASU since late 1980s as a mark of respect and honour of late Kekuojalie Sachü of Kohima Village and late Vikhozo Yhoshü of Kigwema Village, organising committee convenor Kezhazer Angami and ASU president Visako Rino told media persons here today.
An amount of Rs 3.8 lakh has been earmarked for the winners in the tournament with Rs 1.6 lakh for champions, Rs 1 lakh for runners-up, Rs 50,000 for third place and Rs 20,000 for fourth place, besides cash awards for individual’s performers in best custodian, best defender, best mid-fielder and player of the tournament.

By Our Correspondent Updated: Sep 24, 2017 11:08:28 pm