22nd NSF Martyrs’ Trophy: 35 teams to vie for trophy - Eastern Mirror
Wednesday, February 08, 2023

22nd NSF Martyrs’ Trophy: 35 teams to vie for trophy

By EMN Updated: Oct 05, 2022 3:10 pm

Opening match between Head Hunters (defending champion) and Tholevi FC Kidima

Zekuseto Natso, Bisevi Nakhro and other officials on Tuesday at ASU office in Kohima. EM Images

Our Correspondent

Kohima, Oct 4 (EMN): A total of 35 teams are all set to vie for the 22nd edition of the Naga Students Federation (NSF) Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy, which will start from October 7 and culminate on October 29th.

Naga Peoples Front (NPF) Leader of Legislature Party and Co-chairman of UDA, Kuzholuzo Nienu will be the special guest for the inaugural ceremony, to be held at Indira Gandhi Stadium (IGS) Kohima at 4:30 pm on Friday (Oct. 7).

This was informed in a press conference by Zekuseto Natso, convenor of the organising committee along with the organising committee and Angami Students Union (ASU) officials at ASU office in Kohima on Tuesday.

32 teams from Nagaland, (26 from Kohima, 4 from Chümoukedima and 2 from Phek district), 2 from Manipur and Shillong Lajong FC from Meghalaya will fight for the trophy. The preliminary round matches will be played during day time, while the quarter finals till the grand finale will be night matches, it was informed.

Meanwhile, the opening match will be played between last year’s champion Head Hunters and Tholevi FC Kidima.

The champion will receive a prize money of INR 2, 00,000, while the first runner-up will receive INR 1, 20,000, the losing semi-finalists INR 30,000 each and losing quarter finalists INR 15,000 each.

The individual prizes include best goalkeeper (INR 10,000 along with citation), best defender (INR 10,000 along with citation), best midfielder (INR 10,000 along with citation), highest scorer (INR 10,000 along with citation), while the player of the tournament will receive a two-wheeler along with citation.

It was also informed that for the first time, for every match starting from the kick-off till the grand finale, there will be an award, a special souvenir, for player of the match.

There will be no entry fee for the inaugural match, while tickets for other days have been priced at INR 50 and INR 100 from the quarter finals onwards.

Chakhroma Students Union will be managing the ground.

By EMN Updated: Oct 05, 2022 3:10:04 pm